Deep Breaths

28 Aug

Today I had a moment of realization.

My husband had a stroke and is recovering. But he is not really healing. There are parts of him that will never heal. He most likely will never again have 4 clear carotid arteries. The front two will always be blocked. The one in the back will almost always stay torn. He will always have less oxygen going to his brain than before.

The usual money trials have compounded recently and we are going to have to apply for some new things.

I’m tired.

But I got to have a good break down with my daddy that I haven’t been able to have for a while. My eyes are puffy. I have a headache. But my soul is refreshed.

Now, if only my strained shoulder and bruised foot would heal better so they stop hurting so much.

How’s your life going? I haven’t been able to read blogs in forever and I miss you guys…..even just a link to a post would make me feel loved.

16 Responses to “Deep Breaths”

  1. Bri Woods-Chaney August 28, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    ❤ Thinking of you.

  2. Andrea August 28, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Hugs and love! It really was wonderful talking to Ryan on skype for the first time since… forever. the change is noticeable but i’ll sit and listen to him just breathing over him not being there. ❤ Definitely the highlight of my weekend (and these two weeks are days of awesome. Seriously cherry on top!).

    Always in my prayers! All three of you! ❤

    • Kathy August 29, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      He was SO excited when he told me about that! I’m so very very glad he was able to do it. Best $3 spent at Goodwill to get that microphone!

  3. missydlou84 August 28, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    ❤ Love you sweetie!

  4. keli August 29, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    thinking of you, sweet friend. xxo

    • Kathy August 29, 2011 at 9:01 am #

      Thanks, honey! ❤

  5. Sarah & Bristow August 29, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Oh, I’m so sorry. 😦 Let me know if there’s anything I can do and remember we have our free movie passes to use.

  6. Radha Pyari Sandhir August 29, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    I’m glad you got to have a good break down. Keeping it all bottled up bruises one from the inside. Thinking of ya. ❤

  7. Megan (Best of Fates) August 30, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    Sometimes a refreshed soul is all you need to keep going. You and your husband and your daughter are in my thoughts.

  8. jennfrog73 August 30, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Know that you are loved, even if it doesn’t always show. (I have no time for posting anything, I can barely read the 3-4 blogs I love.) You are also admired. You are such a strong, beautiful woman. Glad AB was able to come visit you!!!!!!!

  9. Gowan August 30, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Praying for you, with all my heart.

  10. Jade @ Tasting Grace September 4, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Glad your soul got some refreshing, dear friend. Sending warm thoughts & prayers.

  11. Yo-yo Mama September 9, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    I’m still hanging in there, just short of motivation. Why do kids with no worries get all the energy??

  12. Alice September 11, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    kathy – you are definitely in my thoughts! praying for you and ryan every day. knowing God is able and will be with you every step of the way.

    links? let me think what i’ve posted lately that might be fun??? how about:

    http://theshadowofthecross.blogspot.com/2011/09/castle-ablaze.html
    http://theshadowofthecross.blogspot.com/2011/09/my-girls.html
    http://theshadowofthecross.blogspot.com/2011/09/boys.html and
    http://theshadowofthecross.blogspot.com/2011/09/lowry-park-zoo.html

    I thought your daughter might like all the animals :). they always bring a smile to my face/
    hang in there!

  13. kbreints September 22, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    ((hugs)) Hope that you are doing well… i know this is now an old post, but I am thinking about you!

  14. ange September 29, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Hey sweetie. I don’t have words that will take away any of the pain, I can offer prayer and that is probably the best thing right now. When I come in Nov would you like a girls night out? Maybe we could come up with something fun to do and give you some down time.
    We love you and can’t wait to see your beautiful face again.
    Those who live in the shelter of the Most High will find rest in the shadow of the Almighty. Ps 91:1

Leave a Reply

