Another Week Gone

6 Aug

It’s another Saturday. Today, I work until 1 and then am going with a ton of family to experience Les Miserables, the Broadway musical. When I was going to school in Eugene and lived 2 hours away, the Les Mis soundtrack kept me company many a trip. I could start it as I left home and know it would keep me entertained until I arrived. Anything that kept me awake and active on that drive was so welcomed.

I am ready to be crying in the theatre. The recording would make me cry (especially Empty Chairs at Empty Tables) so I am sure that the live production will have me in tears as well. The whole Fantine character will make me emotional especially I’m sure, now that I’m a mother…

It’s odd, because I use to connect with Eponine the most. Unrequited love and all that. But no longer.

I’m excited and ready to go! Is it 1 yet?

6 Responses to “Another Week Gone”

  1. somethingbarrett August 6, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    I have a special place in my heart for Les Mis. I have probably sang through that musical about a bazillion times. Have you seen the 25th anniversary concert they released? I have the 10th anniversary (which I still think in MUCH better cast). Will totally loan it to you!

    • Kathy August 6, 2011 at 7:23 am #

      I have not heard the 25th anni, but LOVE the 10th. The cast in the 10th was amazing. I heard snippets of On My Own from the 25th and was not impressed. I would love to borrow it!

      • somethingbarrett August 6, 2011 at 7:34 am #

        Yeah Lea Salonga was Fantine for 25th…but I think she is more iconic as Eponine. And Uh…25th had a Jonas brother as Marius…it made me die a bit inside…lol

  2. Jennifer B August 9, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    How NOT surprising that you love Les Mis too! hehehe. My husband actually bought me tickets when they came around to Miami for either a birthday or christmas gift. It was awesome. I had listened (repeatedly) to the Complete Symphonic Recording, and it too kept me entertained on many long car trips! I had performed a medley of it in college marching band. Heck, I even read the book, which is no small feat! But I had never seen it until about 6-7 years ago. My husband even loved it. 🙂
    Hope it was amazing!

    • Kathy August 9, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

      It was absolutely amazing! So fantastic. And that does not surprise me either that you adore it. :p

  3. kbreints August 10, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    I saw that on Broadway when I was in Highschool– it was life altering… really.

Leave a Reply

