Slightly Heartbroken

19 May

We jus heard…Avi has the Alpha1 anti-tripsen disorder. We will get more details later but she has tested positive. I was so hopeful. 😦

10 Responses to “Slightly Heartbroken”

  1. Brandy May 19, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    I know I would be freaking out if I were in your position. I know me and I would not take something like that well. Although it’s probably hard to see right now I think it’s a very lucky thing that you have found this in her when you have. Most children aren’t diagnosed until they have severe liver and jaundice issues. I hope very much that with supplements and monitoring she will never have to deal with some of the possibilities out there. I’m praying for you!

    • Kathy May 19, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

      Thank you, Brandy. I too am glad that we found it now, before she has something traumatic with a stroke like her daddy’s or something else. Now that we know it’s there, we can keep an eye on it.

      The good part is, the type she has works with the lungs the most, so it’s a perfect reason to keep her from smoking! “If you smoke, you will die!”

  2. JenniferB May 19, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I’m so sorry mama. I know you’ll get through, this is just further proof of how amazing you are.

    • Kathy May 19, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

      Thank you, my dear. ❤

  3. Yo-yo Mama May 19, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    “Forewarned is Forearmed”, right?

    I don’t know what her odds were (50/50?), but how sucky is that that she fell on the wrong side of those odds?

    • Kathy May 19, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

      Yeah, I don’t know how it passes, what it’s connected to or whatnot, but with Ryan having it and his mom has it too…it just sucks, yeah.

  4. Stephanie May 20, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Oh, honey. I’m so glad you know now, rather than knowing too late. God is with you. 🙂 You know this. How lucky your sweet Avi is that you’re her momma! Who better to be there for her than you, one of the strongest, most capable people I know?

  5. Missy May 21, 2011 at 12:31 am #

    I’m so sorry Kathy. *hugs* Love you!

  6. keli May 27, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    oh Kathy … i was so hoping the news would be different. but i’m thankful you caught it this early and can be more proactive! i hope you are able to find the resources you need to get through this. many prayers.

  7. lexifranc0 November 8, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    =)

Leave a Reply

