iHeart Faces – Slice of Life

27 Mar


Knocked Out by a Boob
Back in November,we were almost weaned. Only a little snack when I got home from work and a bit at night before bed. That all changed in a 24 hour span of time. Things are much better but life is still crazy. We had a scare last weekend, but again, things have gotten better again.

Still, it’s no wonder that weaning has become an almost impossible thought at this time. Who knows when it will happen. I’m okay with that, because we’ve set up boundaries.  My supply is stable enough that I can be gone for a night and not need to pump.  In fact, when I went to Vegas, I only needed to pump twice. It’s refreshing to have that freedom. And still too, I love the connection I have with her. Especially now that I can say no and she gets over it. We can have a discussion. I can ask her to stop crying because I can’t understand her when she’s whining and it works.

We don’t have a date to fully wean her.  Especially since life is still so crazy. But like everything else that has happened we know that it will happen when it happens. She weaned herself from her pacifier, her bottle and her sippy cup (she uses a sippy when we are out or traveling, but otherwise loves drinking out of a big girl cup). I have no doubt that she will wean herself from me as well as potty training herself. I have faith in my beautiful, amazing daughter growing up. And until that point, I’m going to enjoy the bond we share.

Wow, this is probably the longest iHeart Faces entry I’ve done….visit them to see more with fewer words!

4 Responses to “iHeart Faces – Slice of Life”

  1. Deb March 27, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    What a precious face!

  2. Dallas Ann March 28, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    *hugs* Communication, boundaries, and connection are all so key in extended nursing. You and Little Soup have it all covered.

    Waiting until Ella was a bit past 3 and could be involved in her own weaning party was so helpful to fully weaning her. She’d still be nursing now, I’m sure, so that peaceful ending was exactly what we both needed.

    • Kathy March 28, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      Yes, your journey including the weaning party was a total inspiration. It has given me an idea if it gets to the point where it feels like she might nurse until high school. :p

  3. Leyla March 28, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Embrace this time with your little one… I miss those days so much. There is nothing like a bond you share with your child when they are nursing. Great capture.

Leave a Reply

