A Fall in Spring

10 Mar

Whenever Ryan wakes up in the morning, I wake up as well. Sometimes that’s as early as 4am.  Those days tend to be difficult.  We require lots and lots of coffee.

This morning, even though he slept until 7, was still a very very difficult morning. I woke up as he sat up in bed.  A lazy morning…a stretch, checking to see if he needs anything and then cuddling back into bed and the big fluffy comforter.

Ryan got dressed and moved out to the kitchen to eat breakfast and get his medicine together.

A loud bang shattered my doze.  I asked if he was okay. A heartbeat later, I heard a no.  That heartbeat was the last one for a while it seemed as I took it all in.  Somehow I managed to not wake up Avi as I hurtled out of bed.

I turned the corner and lying there on the floor of our kitchen was my husband.  Ryan had fallen hard and was definitely in pain.

Nothing is more painful than seeing someone you love in pain.  I’m just so glad that I was home.  That I was awake enough to hear him fall.  That it was late enough in the morning that a call to the nurse on-call line meant we would be able to get an appointment with the doctor without having to go to Urgent Care.

I tried to get him up to the couch, but it didn’t work so well.  We got a little bit before he started to fall again.  Thankfully this fall was better controlled and didn’t land hard.  We took another break before trying to get him off the floor again.

By the time we had to leave to get to the office, he could stand at least a little bit to get into the wheelchair.

After x-rays, BP and inspections, he was cleared.  Still, the scare was not the way I wanted to wake up. We’ve been taking it easy today but he’s definitely still hurting.

I hope tomorrow starts better….

7 Responses to “A Fall in Spring”

  1. Missy March 10, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    How horrible 😦 I’ll pray that his pain does not last! ❤ you guys

    • Kathy March 11, 2011 at 8:16 am #

      😦 Thanks, honey.

  2. adventuresinbabywearing March 11, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Oh I am so sorry. I hope today is much better!

    Steph

  3. Michaela March 11, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    I hope the pain goes away soon and that today is a better day!

    • Kathy March 11, 2011 at 11:41 am #

      Thankfully, his leg has stopped hurting. Still has a headache, but that’s been a constant.

  4. Tom March 11, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    I will send more healing thoughts down Ryan’s way.

  5. Radha March 14, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    I saw this only today. How is he now?

Leave a Reply

