Good Morning, 2011

3 Jan

You are already wonderful.

You remember my husband, Ryan.  Your predecessor 2010 kinda screwed him over last year.  We had a rough year.  But you, my dear, you are already full of hope and good things.

Ryan hasn’t had any pain meds since the morning of the 31st.  He had morphine that morning.  Now?  Not even Tylenol.  He went from needing the oxycodone about half an hour before he could have it to not needing anything.  Thanks to the fact that they discovered what was causing the pain.  Apparently, his veins and arteries were randomly spasming and causing the pain both in his chest and his head.  He’s now on a beta blocker thingy that stops that from happening.  And it’s working.

It’s working so well.

This year will be full of hope.  I’m ready, 2011, to see what you bring.

Excited to bring my husband home.  Excited for my photographic future.  Excited for my other projects that I’m working.  Excited to find my new normal and see what it grows to become.  Dare I say it, I’m even excited to start working on my cooking.  I know, I’m crazy, but it had to happen sometime and apparently, now is that time.

So if you have any idiot proof meals, let me know!  I’m the type of person that can mess up boxed macaroni and cheese.  I should be a contestant on “Worst Cooks in America”.  But I’m ready to change that.

Excited

I think someone else is ready too.

19 Responses to “Good Morning, 2011”

  1. Heather January 3, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    So glad to hear that Ryan is doing well, and that you’re heading into 2011 full of hope and excitement!

  2. Shari January 3, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    Fantastic News about Ryan (and cooking).

    Many blessing for this New Year!

    • Mrs. Soup January 3, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Yeah, we’ll see about the cooking. Ha.

      Thank you!

  3. Missy January 3, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Wow that is fantastic that they figured it out! YAY! 😀 I’m excited that you’re excited for the future. As for cooking…keep it simple for now lol. Have STEP by STEP instructions that you can follow 😉

    • Mrs. Soup January 3, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

      Don’t worry, I’m not going to be tackling anything like a turkey. Or crepes. Or anything.

      I think I’ll work on maybe hamburgers first. Or pancakes. Or maybe successfully doing boxed mac and cheese. :p

      • Missy January 3, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

        mac n cheese

        boil the water first (if you put salt in it, it will boil faster)

        then add the noodles

        boil the noodles for about 7 min. or until they can be cut with a fork

        drain

        put them BACK in the pan on the stove

        then add the milk, butter, and cheese!

  4. Deanna January 3, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Great news about Ryan and super cute shot of little miss soup!

  5. Kathleen January 3, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    As I watched The Worst Cooks in America last night, I was thinking I would make a good contestant too!!

    May 2011 be full of HOPE and blessing for you and your family!

    • Mrs. Soup January 3, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

      We should totally team up! Hahahaha.

  6. kbreints January 3, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Do you have crock pot? Seriously, that is a working mom’s best friend! Roast- chicken- soup- pasta… anything! and it is ready when you get home!

    Let me know if you want some ideas for the crockpot– there are books out there too… most of the bet recipes are 3 or 4 ingredients at most!

    • Mrs. Soup January 3, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

      Yes! We do have a crockpot and a couple cookbooks. It’s the prep work I’m worried about. :p

  7. Jade @ Tasting Grace January 3, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    Pasta is usually fail safe. I especially like tortellonis (pop ’em in boiling water and they’re done a few minutes later when they start floating and look soft). If you use pesto, you don’t even need to cook the sauce. I add a salad or steamed veggies on the side (slice carrots, cut green beans, or cut off the tops of broccoli and put in a pot with a lid and about 1/2-inch of boiling water, cook for 3-4 minutes or until fork tender).

    Fajitas are pretty easy too. You can find Lawry’s mix packets at the store and just follow the instructions.

    Glad things are looking up for you!

    • Mrs. Soup January 4, 2011 at 11:29 am #

      With everyone’s help and support, I totally can do this! And thank you for the tortellini tip!

  8. sarah January 5, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    I found your blog through mommywantsvodka. And Im really glad that things are getting better for you. And keep up the good work – love the photos too .
    this is my fail safe spaghetti cabonara – which my almost 4 year old son helps me make and loves to eat…
    this recipe feeds about 4
    cook spaghetti and drain . Reserve a liitle bit of the cooking water.
    beat 4 eggs with some ground pepper and a handful of shredded parmesan
    fry some shredded ham (250grams or so) with minced / crushed garlic – maybe add some peas or corn with the ham .

    Mix the egg mixture in with the just cooked spaghetti – stir until egg mixture is cooked by the heat of the spaghetti – if it is a bit dry – add some of the reserved cooking water.
    then add the ham/garlic/pea/corn mixture .
    Serve with more shredded/shaved parmesan cheese .
    easy peasy !

    • Mrs. Soup January 5, 2011 at 9:00 am #

      That is a great recipe! Thank you!

  9. Naomi January 5, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    I’m so glad he’s doing better!

    Here’s a slow cooker recipe I’m going to be making again this weekend that requires no prep and no effort. 🙂 This chicken is so tender when it’s done. Serve it with rice, pasta, bread and butter, or tortillas. Any leftovers reheat well for lunch. The salsa will mellow a lot as it cooks, so I usually go for medium even though we’re not big spicy food fans.
    http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=672711

  10. Rosemary Eckstein (Filicky) January 5, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Hi Kathy! i’m so glad to hear that your husband is doing better! we’ve had two family members who’ve gone through some serious medical stuff in 2010 as well and our thoughts and prayers go out for ryan’s continued recovery! by the way – your daughter is just adorable!!

    i love my crockpot! here’s a fail proof recipe for you and your family! put chicken (whole, brests, thighs, whatever you have!, in the crockpot. add 1-2 cups water, and pour a ranch packet (i like to use fat free) over. cook until juicy and tender! and voila! – yummy chicken!

Leave a Reply

