23 Months Old

19 Dec

To my darling daughter,

In a month, you will be two.  It’s crazy to believe that you haven’t been a part of our lives forever!

This past month, you have shown your strength.  You were amazing when we went to the hospital with daddy, not knowing what was going on.  Even though it was so early in the morning, you were charming the nurses and playing with Grammy and just watching what was going on.
You were scared with the feeding tube in his nose and the oxygen tube but we got you settled down and you were still willing to hang out with us in the hospital.
Hospital Hugs

Even moving in with Grandpa and Nana didn’t phase you long. Pretty soon, you had Grandpa wrapped around your finger even more than he use to be.

You ask him to snuggle with your hospital doll Suzie and he does, while you are very busy watching Sesame Street.
Grandpa and Suzie

He even lets you help him in his shop!
Helping Grandpa

You are such a good helper.

More importantly, I love how much you love your daddy. I’m so very happy that you want to play with him. You love seeing him and when we visit, have to tell him all about your day. Sharing everything in the room and trying to tell him stories. It’s so wonderful. I know you are going to love having him home when he gets out.

Happy bed play time

Thank you for being my daughter. I love you so much!

Love, your momma!

4 Responses to “23 Months Old”

  1. Tracie December 19, 2010 at 10:46 pm #

    Happy early birthday to your sweet little daughter.

    I just read about your story at Aunt Becky’s blog. I wanted to stop by and tell you that I am praying for your family today.

    Blessings to each of you (especially to your husband…but really to all of you)

  2. Peter December 20, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Mrs. Soup, if you are in to long engagements I have nine grandsons that will eventually need wives. Your little cutie could pretty much have her choice.

    To your husband: I had a stroke some five+ years ago. Today no one but my family and my doctors know about it. If you follow the directions, you can come all the way back. Some 90% of our brains are unused, waiting for this exact thing. It’s just a case of teaching the unused portions to replace the parts that were injured.

    I’m not going to try to blow blue sky and smoke up your ass, telling you how easy it will be. It won’t be easy. Still, I did it and I’m not seven feet tall, covered in muscle. If I can do it, so can you. It looks to me like you have at least two very good reasons to try. So, follow the directions. The Docs, the Nurses, the Physical Terrorists, they all do this for a living. All you have to do is reach down inside and pull out that last bit of stubborn determination that made your fore bearers cross an ocean to become free Americans. Reach down my young friend and grab it, pull it out and get to work. Don’t make me bring my stick!

  3. sam December 20, 2010 at 11:44 pm #

    My son turns two January 20th. This is such a sweet age.

  4. Heather December 27, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    I love the picture of your dad with Baby Soup’s doll. He looks so thrilled!

    And I am so glad to hear that Baby Soup is adjusting to all of the changes happening right now so well!

Leave a Reply

