A Letter to a Sandwich

12 Dec

Dear Crispy Ranch Chicken Sandwich from the 24 hour Cafè at OHSU,

You should know me by name by now, as we have met many times in these past two weeks. The longest and seemingly shortest two weeks of my life.

We first met while still in the ICU. I only ate a few bites of you that first day, as food, even your deliciousness wasn’t enough to entice my nervous stomach.

Since that first day, I have you every meal I can. Nothing else works for a meal. I’ve tried some other items on the menu, mostly during breakfast time, since for some reason you are not considered breakfast food.

You will be the only thing I miss as we plan on leaving here tomorrow. In fact, part of me hopes we leave after lunch so that I may say a proper goodbye.

Until then,
Your Not-so-secret Admirerer

3 Responses to “A Letter to a Sandwich”

  1. kbreints December 13, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Hooray for leaving!!

  2. alice December 14, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    you are coming home tomorrow? i like that “we” !!! that means ryan is doing much better. thank the good Lord! i’m still praying for both of you and the family – and will continue to do so! yay!!!

    • Mrs. Soup December 14, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

      Alas, no, he’s not coming home home. He’s going to the rehab center, but still! We’ll take getting discharged!

Leave a Reply

