The Hunger Games

28 Sep

Last week, I got a package in the mail.  It was a box full of books from my dear sweet friend Heather.  She doesn’t update her blog nearly enough, but that’s just because she is crazy busy with her full time job and also her garter business.  I still love her though and we stay in touch with email and Google Chat.

So, opening the package was almost like Christmas!  She’d been meaning to send me these books for ages and they finally arrived.  Life had to settle down a bit…but last night, I finally was able to read the first one.  The Hunger Games.

I’m sure anyone that has been around has probably already read it.  Compared to the other books I’ve been reading (Brandon Sanderson’s 1,000+ page The Way of Kings for example) 375 pages with larger font type was nothing.  In fact, it’s a good thing it was shorter because I stayed up to finish it.  Almost to 1am late in fact.  To someone that normally goes to sleep at 8, 1 is WAY late.  But I could not put it down.

It felt like the first time I read Twilight, but with better writing.  Now, don’t get me wrong!  I enjoyed the Twilight Saga.  Not necessarily for the great writing style…but for the fun read it is.  It’s on my list of “Candy” books along with Harry Potter.  And now, The Hunger Games.

The first thing that came to mind as I started the book was “Wow!  This reminds me of The Lottery (a short story I read in High School which can actually be read here)”   Then, further into the book, I thought “Wow…the title of the book is NOT a metaphor”.  So often, authors get creative with their book titles (which, I totally enjoy btw) but this one was NOT allegorical.

I won’t go into the plot or anything….but I was hooked.  Can’t wait to read the other two books and will definitely need to add these to my collection.

I just need to start earlier in the day I think.

4 Responses to “The Hunger Games”

  1. Colleen September 28, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    I bought these books for my daughter, but I really liked them too. You’re right, they are “candy” but in a good way.

    • Mrs. Soup September 28, 2010 at 11:32 am #

      Yes! It’s not a bad thing at all! I enjoy my candy. But it’s not a full meal. And that’s okay! Every type of book has a place in my life, for sure!

  2. Mom September 28, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Can I borrow it! I need a good “easy” book to enjoy. Love that you enjoy reading as much as I do.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Books! « - October 5, 2010

    […] fact, if you’ve read my blog at all, you’ll find a few posts about books and authors and book […]

Leave a Reply

