Moments

6 Jul

The morning air whispered in through the cracked window to join the airflow from our constantly running fan.  It smelled of trees and the sprinkle of rain we had had overnight.  My awareness rose slowly with the smells from outside.  Such promise for the day.

It was the day after a glorious Fourth.  We had a successful party at our place, complete with good food, good friends and family and amazing fireworks.  Cleanup was simple, and our fridge was bursting with leftovers.

Opening my eyes, I realized what woke me up.  Big beautiful brown eyes were looking at me.  As soon as she saw I was awake, she tilted her head to the side and asked, as she normally does, for a morning snack.  When I nodded and said okay, she gave me the biggest grin, giggled and started nursing.  Her giggles and excited toe taps woke daddy up who rolled over and started tickling the nursing baby.  We ended up spending almost an hour in bed together.  Tickling, playing games, planning out the day, reading.  It was glorious.

And ended up being desperately needed.

Throughout the day, as everything kept exploding left and right – from phone issues, snotty grumpy babies and traffic, I kept bringing up the memories of the morning into the forefront of my mind.  It was the only thing getting me through the day.

My daughter, the teenager at 17 months and stupid Apple reps saying that my iPhone backup didn’t work after the update because I was on a PC.

I was done.  Finished.  Trying to keep myself from crying when I finally made it home after one of the longest days in a while.

Drifting off to sleep again, though, my legs interlaced with my husband, surrounding my daughter who, as much as I didn’t like her most of the day, I love so much…..the peace that was there at the beginning of the day settled on me again.

I settled to sleep, the light breeze coming through the window to stir around the room, joining with the fan again.  The fact that I don’t have any contacts on my phone anymore didn’t matter.  The echoes of the screaming child were gone.  The raging yeast infection from the antibiotics I was taking…well, it was still painful but I could relax.

I was home and everything would be okay.

4 Responses to “Moments”

  1. Jennifer B July 7, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Sounds like a Day. One you are glad is in the past. Good to see you can rejoice in the small moments of peace. I need to work on that too. 🙂

    • Mrs. Soup July 7, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      Oh yes, I am so glad today is today and not yesterday again!

  2. Aunt Becky July 7, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Today was better. Tomorrow will be even better.

    • Mrs. Soup July 7, 2010 at 3:54 pm #

      Yes. It will be. For both of us.

Leave a Reply

