17 Months Old

25 Jun

*sigh* I hate when I don’t publish things correctly….this was suppose to go last Saturday….

Dearest little one who is not so little anymore,

What are we going to do with you?  You are precocious and have hit your terrible twos way too early.  You know exactly what you are doing when you do it, turning to ask us even when you KNOW you aren’t suppose to do something.  That little questioning sound you make slips out and your face gives it’s angelic look while you ask.  When we say no, you pout and scream and tantrum.  Until you find something else to do.  Or you ask again, maybe this time it will be different.  But no, you will never be able to play with knives.  I’m sorry.  We are the meanest parents ever, I know.  Maybe your next ones will be better.

Mmmhmmmm

Your personality and smartness is exploding out of you. You are so aware of the world and what is going on. Mommy and Daddy have a contest that whoever touches their nose last has to change your diaper.  You’ve started touching your nose with us, and sometimes to let us know you need a new diaper.  It is adorable and you KNOW it.  Books are still your favorite thing, as well as your puppies.  It’s guaranteed if you are in one of your screaming fits, getting your “Bubba” over to distract you will make you stop crying, at least for a second.  You’ve started exploring them too.  Their noses, their ears and tails.  Throwing yourself at them too for big hugs, even if you don’t know how they will react.  You are FEARLESS!

Vhat Iz Dis?

There has yet to be anyone you can’t charm your way into.  Between waitresses and the apartment complex ladies to strangers walking in a store, you smile your cherubic smile and open those big beautiful brown eyes wider and do something cute.  A tilt of your head, giggle and *POOF* they are yours.

oooooOOOOOOooooooo

I wish I could see into your head sometimes. To figure out what makes you want to wear my shirts. What you are thinking as you grab anything with a handle to use as a purse. The reason the wheels are turning as you look at a toy and a box and begin exploring. I cannot wait until you stop speaking ItalianFrenchGermanSimish and start speaking English.

Big Girl Clothes

You are my princess and I love you so much. As excited as I am to get you to sleep in your own bed, I’ll miss waking up to you in my face. Snuggling in at night. We are slowly weaning you down to only a few nursing sessions. I’ll miss you when you don’t nurse anymore. That time is ours and I love it. My nipples will be glad of the relief though, since at night, you perform some amazing nursing gymnastics. Glaring at me when milk comes out your nose though, I won’t miss.

HEY NOW!

I love you my dear daughter.

Mommy Love

Forever and Always.  Happy 17 Months.

3 Responses to “17 Months Old”

  1. casual friday every day June 25, 2010 at 4:51 pm #

    Mine will be 17 months next month. It’s amazing how fast that young babyhood goes by!

    Nell Taliercio
    @nelltaliercio

    • Mrs. Soup June 25, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

      It’s so incredible to see the shadow of the future as their personalities grow! So amazing.

  2. Jennifer B June 25, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    Oh you and I, Mrs. Soup, we have our hands FULL with these little girls. Mine is doing many of the same things, though she is just approaching 15 months on Sunday… It’s amazing how someone so exasperating can be so endearing at EXACTLY THE SAME TIME!!!! I love my daughter. She and Little Miss Soup are going to have to be friends, or else they might fight over who’s going to conquer the world first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

