The Time Has Come…

7 May

The walrus said, “To talk of many things:

Of love and spring and a troubling mouse.

Of weaning  and clean house.”

Okay, So I said it, not the walrus…but same thing, right?

The weather has turned for a few days.  Sunny and dry.  Cannot wait.  Should allow for a beautiful Mother’s Day.

A day I get to snuggle with her:

Wearing a sports bra for support.

And a day that I can be completely thankful for her.  Even thankful for the biting she has started to do while nursing which has started me to start seriously think about weaning.  I haven’t pumped at work for a while.  Some days though, I desperately need our home from work time.  We are getting there.  The night weaning though….that’s what I need.    She still wakes up 1-4 times a night to feed.  I wear a sports bra (like the one she so sweetly is modeling above) and so she can just push it out of the way.  What became an easy way to sleep through the night has now become a nuisance as she does that motion anytime she is hungry.

We’ll work through it…but it means one more sign my baby girl isn’t a baby anymore.

We also have a mouse problem.  We’ve gone through well over a dozen traps.  It’s slowed down to one or two every couple of weeks….but they keep coming.  I don’t know what to do.  Anyone have any suggestions?

Our clean house project has jumped forward in great strides.  Except for the little whirlwind tornado that loves unpacking drawers and closets, we are getting there.  Our house will be picture perfect shortly – including decorated!

Hoping to plant this weekend….have raspberry bushes to plant (far away from the rest of our outdoor plants so they don’t take them over) and veggies, fruits and herbs.  Any tips on how to get my black thumb to go away?  So far, my orchid is not dead.  Yet.  We’ll see if I can keep other things alive!

10 Responses to “The Time Has Come…”

  1. Mom May 7, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    She looks so cute! Sorry about the mouse problem. Maybe you need an outside cat to help keep them away. We are excited to spend Mother’s Day with you.

    • Mrs. Soup May 7, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

      I don’t know if an outside cat would work…especially with the cougar that’s been sited. But it is an option.

  2. Jennifer B May 7, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    Wow… what a post… Full of stuff. Let me see, I want to comment to a few different ideas. First off, Happy Mother’s Day twin. I hope you really do spend it snuggling with Little Miss Soup. I intend to go out dancing (me time) Sat. night and then sleep in on Sunday. Woohooo! Then of course, resume snuggling with my munchkins.
    Next… weaning. Oh my. I’m sorry she’s biting. Keira is doing really great, but I totally know what you mean by needing your nights and also needing daytime for other activities. But I haven’t even considered weaning. I am not pumping at work either, because she won’t take my milk when it doesn’t come from me. We tried for almost a month and then I decided it was futile and I was wasting my stress. But I wish she would stop waking in the middle of the night to come to my bed and then decide that she’s not tired anymore, thereby keeping up me and the husband. We are constantly sleep deprived and it is just. not. working! When you figure something out… please let me know. I think teething is playing a big part. I dunno. But I’m not ready to stop BFing since my little punkin can’t drink cow milk and won’t drink soy or any other milk substitute/formula for that matter. Oy.
    I got nothin for the mouse problem… unless you want to get a cat.
    As for your cleaning/decorating project. I am SO jealous. My house is a constant pit of disaster. My daughter is a hurricane. She destroys all in her path. Daily. I have a maid come in once a week, it only helps a little. Maybe I can set this as a goal for summer, when school lets out.
    Ok, and you plant stuff outside too? How are you doing all this?? Please do tell.
    I work, get kids, feed kids, take kids to playground for an hour, bathe kids & put them to bed. At 9pm I pretty much collapse, but sometimes have job #2 (very part-time) work to do, or I do laundry/diapers, etc. and then collapse. How are you getting all this other stuff done? Weekends? I just try to catch up on all the stuff I neglect all week, or see the family.
    So share your secrets Mrs. Soup. Please!

    • Mrs. Soup May 7, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      Oh so jealous of the sleeping in! Good luck with that!

      Oh you poor thing……I’m so sorry she can’t do milk or soy. I think if we had that problem I would be less willing to wean. Thankfully, my daughter doesn’t have any allergies so far, just an intolerance for caffeine. We really lucked out. But the night bit. Gah, I want to figure it out. I’m googling up a storm to try and figure out what to do. Hope to figure something out. Does she sleep by herself and then cry to come into your bed? Or is she on a toddler bed and make it to yours?

      And gosh, I don’t know how I do everything. A little at a time? I think it really helps having Mr. Soup home during the day. He’s able to get laundry and dishes done. I wish I had someone come clean! It would make the bathrooms easier. Actually, I’d be fine if that’s ALL they did.

      But doing things a little at a time is how we are making it through. Yesterday we re-arranged the kitchen for better storage. Did it together, my husband and I. But the weekends are where we are able to do the bigger chunks of things. It also helps only having one baby!

      Good luck, honey! You can totally kick butts and take names!

  3. kbreints May 7, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    Good for you with getting the house into ship shape! I was going to suggest a cat too.. but a cougar? I don’t know if would go out with one of those sited near!

    • Mrs. Soup May 10, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

      It helps that it hasn’t been sighted for a while…but we are still wary about anything hanging out for too long.

  4. fidget May 7, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    find a nice barn cat. Also, look around for points of entry and stuff the holes with steel wool.

    • Mrs. Soup May 10, 2010 at 7:55 am #

      Oh, good call on the points of entry….

  5. mrs mediocrity May 10, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    She is so sweet, and yes, you will get through the waking up in the night stuff…it will get better. Mice, yikes, we have the same problem, it is an ongoing battle. We live out in the country and there seems to be an endless supply. If you can find where they are getting in, that helps, the steel wool is the best option. I finally invested in this contraption called the Rat Zapper, it is a battery operated re-usable trap, clean up is pain free. That has worked better than anything else I’ve tried…
    Love your new look!

    • Mrs. Soup May 11, 2010 at 8:12 am #

      Thank you for the mice tips! We’ll try the steel wool and see about trying a Rat Zapper as well.

      Thanks! I love the new template, especially since it means I can put my own background. It makes it fun!

Leave a Reply

