Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes – Part One

16 Mar

Your curly hair that brushes out so smoothly.  When wet, it turns into an afro, tight brown curls around your head like a halo.  After a bath, they bounce.  My favorites though are the ones after a good nap, when you sweat just enough to get part of your head damp.  All I want to do then is bury my head in those sweet sweet curls.  You love walking around with the brush, running it through your hair like mommy and daddy do to you.

Those lovely expressive eyebrows of yours.  They move, independently and together, to add so much to the “words” that you say.  We cannot help but laugh when the pull together and make a cute little crease when contemplating something difficult.  Or when one of them arches up when asking a question.  Adorable and so uniquely you.

Underneath those fluffy gorgeous eyebrows are your big brown eyes.  So much emotion in them.  The way they get pink around the outside when you are tired.  The fact that you have the exact same color eyes as your dad’s, deep chocolate brown without any additional flecks or colors.  I could get lost in them.  Framed by your daddy’s long thick eyelashes, you are going to be a heart breaker.  You already are, in fact.  I hate when they well up in tears, drops of salty water dripping down the sides.  Especially when I cannot do anything to make it better.

The nose.  Your cute button nose that is so much like mine.  When you were born and they handed you into my arms, the first thing I noticed is that you were flaring your nostrils just like I do.  You love to have us touch your nose and make “your sound”.  A sound like “Wark” comes from Daddy’s mouth when you touch his nose.  Mommy’s nose makes a “Beep” sound, so the mixture of the two provide a “Bork” sound for your nose.  You’ll spend 20 minutes just touching each of our noses, a huge giggle escaping with each sound.

Ears.  I love your ears, with their detached lobes like your daddy’s.  The way the get pink when you sleep.  Their sheer nommability.  Even the fact that you got the waxy-ness from your Uncle Matt.  I love getting huge chunks of bright orange wax out of them with the q-tips, but I know I’m weird.  You love to carry around a q-tip and “clean out” your ears….even though you miss them by a few inches.

Those precious lips around your mouth.  I adore when they pucker up in a request for a kiss.  Love when they then spread into an open mouthed sloppy wet baby kiss, followed by a big huge grin.  Even better when accompanied with fruit loop breath.  You’ve started biting our fingers and knees and toes, and that has got to stop.  Especially now that you have eight shiny white teeth.  I know that more are coming in, the screaming at night when you wake up in pain.

I love you, baby girl.  My daughter.  My child.  It amazes me that you are part of me….I am so blessed.

11 Responses to “Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes – Part One”

  1. Miss B March 16, 2010 at 11:18 am #

    Sweet, sweet that she has you as a mommy to document every detail, although she may be embarrassed as a teenager that you mentioned her earwax publicly, lol but it’s your right as a mom.

    Thank you for your kind words on the Blahg today.

    xo,

    Miss B

    • mrssoup March 16, 2010 at 11:39 am #

      You are so welcome, dear.

      And yeah, I’m sure she’ll be embarrassed with the earwax comment…but it’ll probably pale in comparison to what I may do in person to her on accident. So I figure there are worse things I can do….that, and it’s something I want to remember.

  2. Jennifer B March 16, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Awwwwwwww. Stop it already. I feel like I don’t write to my daughter often enough. Going into her baby book – right now!!!!!!

    • mrssoup March 16, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

      Hey, if I can motivate you? Awesome. 😀 ❤

  3. Brandy March 16, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    How lucky this little girl is for having such a compassionate and loving mother. One who treasures all the moments and tries to savor and if possible stop time, so she can enjoy it forever.

    • mrssoup March 17, 2010 at 7:59 am #

      Thank you. I do treasure each and every one of these moments so dearly.

  4. kbreints March 17, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    What a SWEET post 🙂

    • mrssoup March 17, 2010 at 10:09 am #

      Thanks sweeite.

  5. bzmomma March 17, 2010 at 1:50 pm #

    How sweet are you? I feel like a slacker mom b/c I haven’t “written” to my daughters in so long…

    “nommability” – i love it! i’m going to have to steal that from you one of these days 😉

    • mrssoup March 17, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

      You are of course welcome to it! Nommability should TOTALLY be in the dictionary.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes – Part Two « - March 19, 2010

    […] Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes – Part Two Jump to Comments For Part One. […]

Leave a Reply

