Weekend Riding

2 Feb

Apparently I’m not awesome enough to be able to embed videos in my blog….but go here to see some CUTE attempts of Baby Soup trying to play the Penny Whistle.  She’s pretty flippin good too!

Playing the Whistle, part 1.

Playing the Whistler, part 2.

One of the several naps Baby Soup took.  Her buddy Darius crawled up to take a nap with her.

Best Friends

Saturday we were blessed with BEAUTIFUL weather and I was so glad to get on the back of Pablo again.  We visited the neighbors, a herd of miniature horses.

Minis

Anything is cuter if it is in mini size!

Mini Kisses

Kisses.

My friend’s land is right next to acres and acres of logging forests.  So many trails made by deer, tractors and cars makes for heavenly rides.  Especially when you exit out of a small trail filled with trees, ferns and bushes in to an open space like this:

A Ride With A View

Gorgeous!

The beautiful Brioso del Ray.  Paso Fino with STYLE.  Even if he is out of shape…the poor guy gets lathered no matter what he does.

Beautiful (and Sweaty) Brioso

After two weeks off, it was good to get him under the saddle again.  Even if we put the wrong (smaller) saddle on him.  Ooops!

So much fun though…..

Is it Friday yet?

17 Responses to “Weekend Riding”

  1. Heather February 2, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    I am so glad that you are able to get out and go riding! It is so important for you to do things just for YOU and this is something you love so much! 🙂

    And those mini horses are absolutely adorable, although my mom would say they’re somewhat useless because “you can’t even ride them!”

    • mrssoup February 2, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

      Hahaha, yeah, you can’t ride them but apparently you can have them pull little carts. Either way, they are adorable.

  2. Jennifer B February 2, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Sooooooo jealous. Can’t wait till my Cavalia experience…. I bought the really good seats, called “the Horse lovers” and it includes a trip back to see and rub the horses after the show! That’s probably as close as I’ll get to riding anytime soon. I’ll just live vicariously through you, my other me. So keep posting pics. Can’t you youtube the video? I haven’t tried it yet on my blog either, so I have no idea. If you figure it out, let me know. 🙂 Thanks!!!

    • mrssoup February 3, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      It looks like the wordpress doesn’t allow videos unless you pay. So I uploaded it to Flickr and put the link at least.

      And I cannot wait to hear about your Cavalia experience! You have got to share pictures!

  3. kbreints February 2, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Looks like a blast.. and how beautiful!!

    • mrssoup February 3, 2010 at 10:11 am #

      So much fun….

  4. fidget February 3, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    squee! i ❤ mini ponies! And they arent useless, Did you know they can be trained to assist the handicap?

    • mrssoup February 3, 2010 at 11:05 am #

      Ooooh, yeah, that’s right! I forgot about that!! They are SO STINKING CUTE too. I wonder if they can be trained to get beers from the fridge….

      • fidget February 3, 2010 at 11:06 am #

        Of course they can, but I dont know about opening the beer.. hmm maybe they are useless

  5. Cara February 3, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

    Inexplicably, there are a bunch of miniature pony farms in Western Maryland and South Central PA. I’m not sure how it happened, but you can’t throw a rock without hitting a little horse farm out there. There’s even an amusement park: The Land of Little Horses. Wild, right? I can’t wait to take my daughter out there when she gets a little bigger.

    • mrssoup February 3, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

      Wow, that’s crazy! I want to see photos of the amusement park. That’s insane!

  6. Michaela February 3, 2010 at 7:05 pm #

    Mini horses are so cute! My sister and her husband have horses where they live and we’ve tried talking her into getting a mini one too, but she would rather get a mini cow… yes, I guess they do exist!
    What a great picture of Baby Soup with Darius… I love how he has his paw on her shoulder!

    • mrssoup February 4, 2010 at 8:54 am #

      EVERYTHING is cuter in mini form! Mini cows….they still have stinky poo. lol. Crazyness.

      And yes! I was so glad the camera was at hand to get a picture of it…they are such good friends!

  7. Deanna February 4, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    That first shot is adorable! Love seeing the mini’s too. My daughter got to pet a baby miniature horse when she was 3 yo. She still talks about it, 3 years later.

    • mrssoup February 4, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

      How funny that she still remembers it so well!

  8. Yo-yo Mama February 6, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    I can practically smell the horses through the computer. I never understood my dad’s obsession with the minis, but he had 5 total (2 sets of teams and an odd ball). Give me a big horse any day.

    • mrssoup February 8, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      Yes, exactly! If you want something that small, get a dog! They can pull sleds/carts too!

Leave a Reply

