Haiti

13 Jan

Today’s Wordless Wednesday is full of words.  But that doesn’t make me any less wordless…tragedy has that affect on me.

Yesterday, Haiti was hit by a 7.0 earthquake.  Horrible event in a country that is already in such dire straights.

To some, this is just another disaster hitting someplace unknown.  To my family though, this hits a bit closer to home.

This is my cousin and his family.

6 of them are from Haiti.

There are two more that will be joining them soon.

From Haiti.

Their two babies are safe.

But they are still tracking down friends and family.

Please, keep them in your prayers and thoughts.

19 Responses to “Haiti”

  1. Trinity January 13, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    I love you! Thank you for this beautiful post for our family. The adoption situation is Haiti is so much different than people may expect….its not that the birthfamilies don’t want the children, they just want something much better, so they make the sacrafice and let their children be adopted for a better life. So these birthfamilies are still much loved by my nieces and nephews, and Paul and Angie. Waiting to hear how they have fared from the quake will be agonizing. But praise God that the two waiting to come home are safe!

    • mrssoup January 13, 2010 at 10:35 am #

      Thankfully Angie updated that those two are safe. Still waiting on other family and friends information though.

  2. bzmomma January 13, 2010 at 2:12 pm #

    Glad to hear the 2 babies are safe and praying for everyone else…

    • mrssoup January 13, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

      Thank you so much.

  3. Dallas Ann January 13, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Oh my goodness!! Praying.

    • mrssoup January 13, 2010 at 3:09 pm #

      Thank you!

  4. Jennifer B January 13, 2010 at 3:26 pm #

    This poor poor country, to be hit so many times by so many disasters. Ugh. I have a friend who is collecting supplies, clothes, and food and is transporting them directly to Haiti. I have cleaned out my closets and am about to start on the pantry. I don’t have any family or friends there, but I feel for them. I can’t do much, but this I can do.

    • mrssoup January 13, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

      Thank you. You may not be doing much, but in this situation, seriously, every little bit helps.

  5. Badass Geek January 13, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    Oh, crap. I’ll definitely keep them in my thoughts. Keep us posted!

    • mrssoup January 13, 2010 at 4:53 pm #

      Thank you! Every bit helps….I’ll update as soon as I find anything out.

  6. Yelena January 13, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

    Wow! Glad to hear that the babies are safe…praying for everyone in Haiti!

  7. Grammy January 14, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    We should all stop and take the time to say a prayer for all the people affected by this horrible disaster. May God be with ALL of them!

    • mrssoup January 15, 2010 at 9:38 am #

      Yes, may He.

  8. kbreints January 15, 2010 at 8:14 am #

    My prayers and thoughts are with everyone effected in this terrible tragedy. It is unfathomable. Just to big to wrap yoru arms around. But that is what I find myself wanting to do. Send out hugs, and cry with them.

    • mrssoup January 15, 2010 at 9:32 am #

      Thank you. Prayers and hugs are so welcome.

  9. Aunt Becky January 15, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Shit. Sending prayers and love. My heart hurts.

    • mrssoup January 15, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      Mine does too. 😦

  10. angie January 18, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    wow. praying.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Signing « - February 5, 2010

    […] 5, 2010 by mrssoup First off, let me share some very very happy news!  My cousin’s family has grown by two more!  Thank you for all your prayers and good wishes for their Haitian children […]

Leave a Reply

