I Am.

4 Jan

I am me.  In addition, I am a wife, daughter, sister and mother.  But first and foremost, I am me.

Taking a page from the lovely and talented Aunt Becky, I am going to make this the year of me.

First step to that goal?  A standing date between myself and a lovely lady from Craigslist for horseback riding.  This poor lady was in a car accident a few years ago and after multiple surgeries, has major nerve damage in one of her hands.  This left her unable to groom and tack up her three Paso Fino horses.  I am glad to do so in exchange for riding.  It’s a win-win situation.  Especially considering how well we got along on Saturday.  We just clicked.  For the entire 3.5 hours I was there, we talked about all sorts of things.  From her horses and goats and dogs to books (she is a voracious reader like me) to Roman history.  It was meant to be.

So now I have a day for me doing something I truly enjoy.

In addition, my computer will hopefully be fixed this evening and allow me to work on photos again.  It’s been so incredibly slow for weeks and then finally just decided it didn’t want to do anything anymore.  Here’s hoping it will be fixed, as we cannot afford to get me a new one.

Other than that, I will not feel guilt for finding me.

I am me.

I am.

Me.

21 Responses to “I Am.”

  1. Kathleen January 4, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    Oh, have fun pursuing whatever makes YOU happy! Hope this is a blessed, wonderful year of YOU!!

    • mrssoup January 4, 2010 at 5:00 pm #

      Thank you, dear. ❤

  2. kbreints January 4, 2010 at 6:55 pm #

    good for you! As a new mommy that was the hardest thing for me to recapture… me. Me time. I was always feeling guilty.. but in the end I realized I am a much better mommy and wife when I have had me time. Enjoy yourself!!

    • mrssoup January 5, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      Yes, exactly. I told myself I wouldn’t be one of those moms who lose themselves…but that didn’t work so well. Now I am though.

  3. Keli January 4, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    oh this is so good. so so good.

    as mothers, i think we often forget to take care of ourselves. we’re constantly doing for others, and we need to remember to take some time for us. yes, yes, yes.

    thank you for the reminder!!

    i’m so happy the craigslist thing worked out 🙂

    • mrssoup January 5, 2010 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you so much for the support and love. Glad I could remind you too! Once we remember that we can help others by taking care of ourselves, I think it helps…

  4. Jennifer B January 4, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Wow, that is so awesome. I too love Paso Finos. Shocking, right? Considering our freakishly parallel lives. I never had any training or anything, but I really love to ride horses. I once dated a guy who trained Pasos and I just think they’re beautiful. I’m so jealous that you’ll be riding every week, but also so happy for you that you have your thing. I need go dancing more. I only go about once a month. That is not enough ME time, but it is better than none, and it comes pretty guilt free since it happens after bedtime for the little people. I so have to pay for it the next day though… since I still have to get up at whatever hour they decide to wake me. Anyhoo. Good for you!!! Enjoy!

    • mrssoup January 5, 2010 at 9:11 am #

      Okay yeah, that so does not surprise me anymore. lol. But Pasos are just gorgeous.

      You should go dancing more! At least you do get out once a month. That’s good. I didn’t have anything and it was really draining.

  5. Jenn January 5, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

    I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately too. It’s so easy to get lost in everyone else once you become a wife and a mother.
    It’s so great that you found something outside of that to bring you joy. 🙂

    • mrssoup January 5, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

      Thank you!

      I hope that you are able to find something to enjoy as well.

  6. Nana January 5, 2010 at 7:39 pm #

    I think you are a wonderful women who has so much to offer the world. I am happy you have found something to make your life “sparkle”. God bless you daughter. xoxoxo

    • mrssoup January 6, 2010 at 8:56 am #

      I love you.

  7. DAD January 5, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    You deserve time for “you”. it is what keeps you as active as you are and if your “you” time is lacking, everything else starts to come apart.
    You have a lovely daughter (I know and yes i am strongy biased) and a great husband. i know they depend on you being at your best and i know that they know you need your “you” time.
    You go girl and if Dad needs to lend a hand, you let me know.
    love ya!

    • mrssoup January 6, 2010 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you Daddy. I love you.

  8. Cathy January 6, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    So glad you found such a blessing to fill that need for some special nurturing time for yourself in a unique way that especially fills you.

    Cathy

    • mrssoup January 6, 2010 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you!

  9. Aunt Becky January 6, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    The Year Of You will be awesome. I just know it.

    • mrssoup January 6, 2010 at 10:03 am #

      Almost as awesome as the Year of YOU.

  10. Dallas Ann January 6, 2010 at 6:11 pm #

    I can identify with this all to well, as you know.

    I ❤ you and will do anything and everything I can to support you in finding yourself again.

    xoxo

  11. Grammy January 14, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    Honey,

    I am glad you are taking the time to find some “ME” time. It is very important. I love you dearly.

    • mrssoup January 15, 2010 at 8:55 am #

      Thank you. ❤

Leave a Reply

