First Christmas Trip

21 Dec

Saturday was the first day that it hit me how soon Christmas was.  Mr. Soup and I went to a holiday tradition of our friend Bill’s.  He takes all his friends out to dinner instead of getting individual presents.  We missed last year because I was 8.5 months pregnant, we had 3 inches of snow and ice on top and just couldn’t make it.  This year, we were very happy to be able to go.

A night without baby and getting to enjoy adult conversation and really good food?  Priceless.

I was so busy stuffing my face with some AMAZING sushi, that I didn’t get any pictures.  I know, I’m a loser.  But I did get a photo of the beautiful fresh fruit plate for dessert:

Delicious

While hubby and I were enjoying this amazing meal, Baby Soup got to go out too!  She went with Grammy and Grammy’s boyfriend to the Oregon Zoo to see the Zoo Lights!

Zoo Lights 2009

It was the perfect evening, not too cold and not raining.  Grammy had never gone and obviously neither had my daughter.  Everyone had a blast!

Zoo Lights 2009

Zoo Lights 2009

So, has it hit you yet that Christmas is almost here?  Do you have your Christmas or Hanukkah shopping/wrapping done?  Do you have a tradition that just SEALS the holidays into your mind?

9 Responses to “First Christmas Trip”

  1. melissa @ spoiled mommy December 21, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    Aww, she is so adorable!
    Sounds like a lot of fun…Mommy & Daddy too. 🙂

    • mrssoup December 22, 2009 at 8:52 am #

      Oh thank you! We all had a blast. It was a good day.

  2. Nana December 21, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    She is so cute! Glad they enjoyed the zoo and you enjoyed dinner.

    • mrssoup December 22, 2009 at 8:52 am #

      They had so much fun and so did we.

  3. Jennifer B December 22, 2009 at 4:32 pm #

    I had a rare moment today, both kids were napping at the SAME TIME. So I jumped on that opportunity to wrap all the gifts I’ve been tossing in the back of the closet. Then I realize I really didn’t get the hubby much, just some pants for work. Hmmmm…. Now tomorrow I’ve got to pick up my mom from the airport, possibly drag my almost-4-year-old to the dr. because he has sprung a fever, and run to the store during afternoon nap (hoping he takes one) to buy my hubs some nice shoes. Whew. Yep, the Christmas rush is on!!!!

    On the topic though, I am hoping to bring my kids and mom to see our Zoo lights display this weekend. It should be nice.

    • mrssoup December 22, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

      Oh man, both napping together?! Shocking and amazing!!!

      I hope tomorrow goes smoothly and your son is peachy keen. Being sick on Christmas is no fun at all.

      Have fun at the Zoo Lights!

  4. Aunt Becky December 22, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    That baby kills me with her cuteness.

    • mrssoup December 22, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

      If you die, can I have your blog?

  5. kbreints December 27, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    What a great tradition! A night amung adults is always a welcomed present at our house too!

Leave a Reply

