You Capture – Holiday Decor

17 Dec

We haven’t decorated for Christmas at home.  At all.  HORRIBLE parents, we are.  But Baby Soup is a little too young and a little too into everything for us to put our tree up.  We also are spending Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at my parent’s house, so won’t even wake up at home.  So this year we are just holding off on decorating at all.  My parent’s house and my Mother-in-Law’s house are beautifully decorated, but I didn’t get any pictures.  I’ll be sure to get some over the holiday for the next You Capture.  Until then, here are the decorations I did at work:

Photobucket

Our Christmas Tree. Complete with fake packages underneath it, one for our token Jewish girl as well.

Photobucket

A basket that smells like cinnamin. I love this little bit of decoration. Made from bits and pieces in the box of decorations.

Photobucket

A gingerbread train! Decorated by children of co-workers at our Holiday party.

Photobucket

And the Gingerbread house. They did so good!

For more great decorations, visit Beth.

24 Responses to “You Capture – Holiday Decor”

  1. Chocolate Girl December 17, 2009 at 11:31 am #

    Those are some amazing gingerbread creations!

    • mrssoup December 17, 2009 at 11:33 am #

      Didn’t the kids do an amazing job?!

  2. Badass Geek December 17, 2009 at 12:13 pm #

    That house looks good enough to eat!

    • mrssoup December 17, 2009 at 12:16 pm #

      Probably wouldn’t be a good idea…who knows what germs those kids had on their hands….

  3. tiddlyompompom December 17, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    wow, the gingerbread constructions are AMAZING! I was getting excited about making gingerbread christmas trees with my daughter but now I feel inadequate! Great photos.

    • mrssoup December 17, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

      Don’t be too intimidated! They came from a kit, so you just have to put the pieces together. You can do just as awesomely!

  4. Life with Kaishon December 17, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    Your office does look lovely. We haven’t put our tree up yet either. And the party is at our house on Christmas! I keep meaning to get busy and do it, but I never do… We are going to make a gingerbread house this weekend. SO excited.

    • mrssoup December 17, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

      Oh dear! Maybe you could make it part of the celebration?

      “Yay! Welcome to my house! To make you comfortable, you can help us decorate our tree!” “Well, why didn’t you decorate it before?” “We wanted a REALLY fresh one.”

  5. erin --it's your movie-- December 17, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    I LOVE gingerbread houses. That train is something else. Awesome!

    • mrssoup December 17, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

      They did such a great job. I want to get me one of the train kits for home…

  6. katelin December 17, 2009 at 5:48 pm #

    aw i love it all, so cute and christmassy!

    • mrssoup December 17, 2009 at 5:49 pm #

      Thank you! It’s fun, I like it.

  7. crnnoel December 17, 2009 at 6:54 pm #

    I love the gingerbread train, dripping icing and all!

    • mrssoup December 18, 2009 at 9:01 am #

      I think the dripping icing is what really makes it. Obviously, icicles!

  8. Amanda December 17, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

    Love all the pics! Love the gingerbread house and train! I have never done one with my kids; maybe next year.

    • mrssoup December 18, 2009 at 9:01 am #

      It’s not too late! You could make it a Christmas Eve tradition!

  9. Jenna December 18, 2009 at 8:48 am #

    OH! I love the gingerbread train!!

    • mrssoup December 18, 2009 at 9:02 am #

      Didn’t it turn out wonderful?

  10. Jenn December 18, 2009 at 12:20 pm #

    That gingerbread train kicks ass! I’m lucky my son wasn’t looking over my shoulder when I read this or I would be forced to make one. And that would not be good! I just go with the kit when we make our gingerbread house every year, haha.

    • mrssoup December 18, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

      The kit is the way to go! Course, you have to add in extra candy. Otherwise, it just doesn’t work!

  11. girlsworld December 18, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    We didn’t decorate at all last year since we weren’t going to be town for the week surrounding Christmas. Kids made the train and the house? They did a great job. Mine would just eat all teh candy.

    • mrssoup December 19, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

      ha! Yeah, they did a GREAT job.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. happy holidays « tiddlyompompom - December 30, 2009

    […] life , you capture Leave a Comment Tags: christmas, family, food, you capture When I saw Mrs Soup’s you capture post a couple of weeks ago, I got gingerbread envy. My daughter is only 22 months old, […]

  2. happy holidays » tiddlyompompom - March 4, 2010

    […] I saw Mrs Soup’s you capture post a couple of weeks ago, I got gingerbread envy. My daughter is only 22 months old, […]

Leave a Reply

