Wordful Wednesday – RAFO

25 Nov

So last week, I was honored to help out with a book signing for The Gathering Storm, the newest Wheel of Time book.  The creator was Robert Jordan, after he died in 2007, Brandon Sanderson was hired to complete the series.  The Wheel of Time is an epic fantasy series consisting of 12 books, with 2 more to come in the next two years to finish it up.  I highly recommend it if you are into that kind of thing.

Brandon Sanderson is author of many amazing books, including the Mistborn trilogy and a series of Young Adult novels called Alcatrez that are basically improv writing.  Seriously, if you have a 9-13 year old who enjoys snarky comments and stories about librarians that rule the world, or have ever BEEN a 9-13 year old, you need to check them out.  For serious.

As payment for helping out with the book signing, we got to have dinner with Mr. Sanderson, paid for by the publisher.  During the dinner, we got to ply him with tons of questions about anything we wanted.  Only a few were about the Wheel of Time series, but I did get to get in my question.  It’s convoluted and confusing to anyone that hasn’t read them, but it was a question I had asked the previous author, Robert Jordan, years ago when I had met him.  The answer that he had given was this:

“Young lady, you need to have an affair with a man, woman or German Shepherd.  Either way, you need to get a life.”

Upon asking this question to Mr. Sanderson, he interrupted me with “That was you?!”  Apparently the story has been going around the fan world for years.

I also received a coveted “R.A.F.O.” card from him.  R.A.F.O. stands for “Read and Find Out” which was an extremely common answer for any question that might be exposed in the future books.

Photobucket

It was a good day.

And yes, my name is Kathy.  Anyone that has commented will not be surprised.  :p

12 Responses to “Wordful Wednesday – RAFO”

  1. Michaela November 25, 2009 at 2:37 pm #

    That’s pretty funny that word has gotten around like that – don’t know what the question was, but loved the first answer!!

    • mrssoup November 25, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

      Yeah, it had to do with lots of things particular to the book series, but was very lovely and random. It is my favorite question ever.

  2. Heather November 25, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    What a great experience! And I love that his response to your question is well-known in fandom! You’ll have to tell me what your question was after I get through the books ~ I just started ripping the first audiobook and plan to start listening to it next week!

    • mrssoup November 25, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

      Yes! Let me know when you get done with the first one, because it should make sense to you even then.

      Hope you enjoy them!

  3. Aunt Becky November 25, 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    Now that is cool, dude. Very cool.

  4. Badass Geek November 26, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    SO cool, dude. Seriously.

    • mrssoup November 26, 2009 at 12:46 pm #

      I know, right?!

  5. mike wilson December 8, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    I used to LOVE the WoT series! I got into it I think when Book 3 came out, and read it faithfully until I think book 8. About 6 months after I finished the 8th book I met someone who had just read it, and realized that I didn’t remember a SINGLE THING about the book. That was the last time I picked up the series. I also got “fantasy”-ed out, and haven’t been reading any fantasy for the past 10 years or so.

    And now I’m wondering what your question to Robert Jordan was!!!

    • mrssoup December 8, 2009 at 3:46 pm #

      That seems to be a common problem…book 8 is the going down point….the story seems to pause and it takes a lot to get going again. But if you can make it to the newest one? You are in for a real treat.

      And my question was: “If you were to open a gateway with the exit behind you, could you balefire yourself.”

  6. Jared Wilson Photography December 10, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    My brother is CRAZY about Wheel of Time – and now, Sanderson. He would be SO jealous!!!

    • mrssoup December 10, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

      Your brother has good taste! Have him read the Mistborn series, by Sanderson. And if he has any kids (or if your daughter likes reading), you should check out the Alcatrez series as well. Hilarious books where librarians rule the world.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Signing « - February 5, 2010

    […] in September, I was lucky enough to help out with a book signing at my local Powell’s.  It was so much fun, getting to meet Brandon Sanderson and other Wheel […]

Leave a Reply

