The Gross Part – How to Fillet

16 Nov

I’ve just recently begun to enjoy eating fish.  I went through a long faze where anything fishy just was disgusting.  Didn’t want to eat it, touch it, smell it, look at it.  You couldn’t catch me in a sushi restaurant, let alone eat it.

I’ve slowly begun to get past that.  I still will only eat certain items, but I’m okay in a restaurant that serves strictly fish.  Clam Chowder is delicious, as is most salmon, as long as it is cooked.  I still can’t handle eating sushi or sashimi, but someday….someday.

What this also means is that I was able to watch my husband and dad fillet the fish they caught last weekend without wanting to vomit.  In fact, I got up close and personal with the fish.  And the camera.  Possibly too close.

So here is a warning.  These pictures may be too graphic for some.  So if you don’t want to see some fish blood (no guts…guts were already taken out…) go ahead and click out.

You can always visit my favorite Aunt Becky.  Or the fabulous Dallas Ann.  Or go play with a Farm.

This is your last chance.

A Dad and His Fish, Part 2

My dad, as he lifts the fish.  He’s probably going to be mad that I posted this picture…but I love it.  It shows just how heavy the fish is, when you lift it from a different angle.

A Dad and His Fish

This ones better.

Filleting a Fish 01

First, you cut off the head.  Having it talk to your baby is not a necessary step…but entertaining nonetheless.

Filleting a Fish 02

Then off comes the tail.

Filleting a Fish 03

Once the tail is off, you want to start separating the two big pieces.

Filleting a Fish 04

This is the part that can get messy….as long as it’s cut, you are successful…don’t know how in the world the Iron Chefs can do it in like, 5 seconds.  It took the two of them about 10 minutes to do this.

Filleting a Fish 05

But eventually it is separated.  Keeping the skin on it keeps it together better.  You want to make sure to carefully clean off the bits and pieces before you freeze it.

Filleting a Fish 06

It’s a messy messy job….

Filleting a Fish 07

As gross as it is, there is still a quiet beauty about it.

Don’t worry, I won’t be watching anyone butcher a deer anytime soon…

Can’t wait to try out the recipes you guys shared!

12 Responses to “The Gross Part – How to Fillet”

  1. Kathleen November 16, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    “Having it talk to your baby is not a necessary step”

    LOL! 🙂

    This is why I am so very thankful for the Seafood Dept. in our grocery store!! I don’t cook fish often because of the gross-out factor. In fact, the last time I did cook it, I asked the Seafood Dept. guy to remove the skin from the salmon fillet for me (you know how they usually leave the bottom skin layer on–for ease of frying, I guess??). He gave me a weird look and asked me if I was sure I wanted to do that.

    Well, yes, I’m sure. Otherwise I wouldn’t ask you to do it! He somewhat grudgingly did it for me. Less gross-out factor for me to contend with at home!

    • mrssoup November 16, 2009 at 11:41 am #

      Haha, yeah…I still am not quite willing to touch the raw fish….and the skin is kinda gross, but it is easier to deal with it when you have to move it around. It doesn’t fall apart as much if the skin is still on.

      I bet the guy went to his co-workers and talked about this crazy lady that wanted the skin off the fish.

  2. Jade @ Tasting Grace November 16, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Awesome. I’m so glad you’re starting to enjoy fish. It really can be truly heavenly if it’s fresh and prepared properly. I used to help my mom out in the kitchen as I was growing up and she’d teach me how to clean and prepare all kinds of different seafood. I gotta say the one that wins out on the gross factor is cleaning and gutting squid. I won’t tell you what it reminds me of cuz it’s not a topic for polite conversation. But it’s sufficiently gross for me! 🙂

    • mrssoup November 16, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

      Ummm, yeah…..squid would be gross to clean….I think my big anti-seafood thing came from when I had to help clean and de-tail like 10 pounds of shrimp. Okay, so I’m sure it wasn’t that much, but it sure seemed like it.

  3. Kristen Metzger November 16, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    I think its great that you chose to photograph this! Life isn’t always a ‘classic’ beauty, and I think taking the time to really appreciate the life that we consume for our own means is really important. It gives us a chance to say ‘thanks Salmon, I really appreciate what you are and what you do for me” and connects us to our food, and ultimately, our planet.

    • mrssoup November 16, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

      Yes, exactly! Strangely enough, I was thinking of you when I was photographing it….thinking of your joy of sea-life.

  4. Sami November 16, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

    I LOVE fish!! That one looks sooo fresh… yum…

    That last photo is just awesome. 🙂 Love it.

    • mrssoup November 16, 2009 at 4:05 pm #

      It was very fresh. As in, less than 12 hours old. Hahaha.

      Thank you! That means a lot to me!

  5. Heather November 16, 2009 at 9:00 pm #

    Wow. Those are fabulous AND DISGUSTING pictures. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    • mrssoup November 17, 2009 at 8:56 am #

      Awww, thanks! Miss you! ❤

  6. Badass Geek November 17, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    Oh, yes. This brought back many memories of cleaning fish with my dad.

    • mrssoup November 17, 2009 at 8:57 am #

      Oh good! I’ve always had really good memories of cleaning fish too. It’s amazing how something so gross can be so memorable!

Leave a Reply

