A Geek is Made

26 Oct

During one of the last beautiful days before the joy known as the Oregon Fall came (also known as: torrential downpours), we had a picnic in a park.  It was so much fun.  We had loads of food to make sandwiches, chips, cookies, doughnut holes and soda.

Baby Soup discovered the joys known as Mountain Dew.  (Before you call CPS, no, she didn’t drink any.)

Mountain Dew 01

Mountain Dew 02

Mountain Dew 03

Mountain Dew 04

Mountain Dew 05

So tell me, parents/siblings/caretakers.  What is the worst food your child has eaten or you have seen given to a child?

32 Responses to “A Geek is Made”

  1. jade @ Tasting Grace October 26, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    Hmm…haven’t seen anything really bad…though my step-MIL isn’t so great with my hubby’s little 12yo sister. Poor girl eats only what she wants (which is meat, fish, and chocolate/ice cream. maybe a tiny bit of white carbs like pasta or potatoes. no fruits or veggies at all.) And they wonder why she’s sick all the time.

    On the other hand, when my nephew was 10, we went to Thailand and he really wanted to try fried grasshopper from one of the local street vendors. We all refused it ourselves, but he loved it. Said it tasted like fried fish.

    • mrssoup October 26, 2009 at 10:02 am #

      Ha! Fried grasshoppers would be…interesting. I don’t know if I would be able to eat it if I knew what it was though. *shudder*

      Baby Soup is so picky with trying new things, that it’s always interesting to try and get her to eat anything…but a 12 year old? That’s sad. Course, my brother still refuses to touch anything from the fruit family….so it’s hard to say.

      • Jade @ Tasting Grace October 26, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

        Yeah, I’m not big on the creepy, crawlies either.
        It must be so hard figuring out ways to entice picky eaters. I don’t think I was all that picky growing up…but then my parents were pretty old school about making me eat things that were good for me. Of course, we also ate a lot of stir-fries and it’s pretty hard to eat around all the veggies in a stir-fry, so you just learn to eat them too.
        I just hope when I have kids it won’t be too hard to get them to enjoy their fruits and veggies.

      • mrssoup October 26, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

        The whole thing is so difficult. You think and plan…before I had the baby, I was planning on what I’d do and how we’d feed her. We were going to do Baby Led Weaning, which was basically let the baby feed themself, taking bites of things, that sort of thing. Exploring new tastes and textures by themselves, at their own pace. Yeah, didn’t work so well since it relies on the child wanting to touch the food. Which so doesn’t happen.

        Also, my brother and uncle both will not even TOUCH fruit. Still to this day. Which is odd.

        I do know too there are lots of recipes out there that hide the veggies, so that’ll work when she gets older. Looking forward to that.

  2. Trinity October 26, 2009 at 10:36 am #

    My kids’ weakness is soda…Ethan knows the sound of a can opening and demands, emphatically, that he be given some. Then there was the time that Joey gave Nick a booger from his own nose and told him to eat it! Brothers! It’s amazing what they will try to get their younger siblings to do!

    • mrssoup October 26, 2009 at 11:02 am #

      Ahahaha, you can pick your nose and you can pick your friends, and apparently you can pick your family’s noses…..

  3. Kasey October 26, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    I’m pretty anal about that kind of thing but I do have to say that the sandwich that I can only assume is being held by your husband? looks super tasty!

    • mrssoup October 26, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

      Hahaha, yeah, my husband’s sandwich looks so yummy now and then. Mine was better though, since he doesn’t eat mustard. But mmm, roast beef and turkey on Rye. YUM.

  4. keli_h October 26, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    gah, this is a sore spot with me. hubby and i admitedly drink a lot of soda, but i usually try to keep mine somewhat hidden & balanced out with water. but he drinks his around her and lets her have sips – it drives me BONKERS!!

    as far as food goes, she eats what we eat, and we eat pretty balanced. we have our fair share of ice cream and french fries, but we also eat a lot of fruits and veggies. her favorite food is either grapes or bananas.

    or turkey dogs, lol.

  5. keli_h October 26, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    and don’t worry. she’ll come around to a lot of different foods as time goes on. toddlers are PICKY eaters, but then around 2, it gets a lot better. emma would choose fruit and veggies over candy or crappy food any day.

    my proudest moment is when i get her a happy meal at mcdonald’s, and she tears into the apples before she eats the chicken nuggets. 😉

    • mrssoup October 26, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

      That is so comforting.

      Thankfully, we don’t really drink soda at our house (financial and the fact that I can’t drink caffeine without her having bad cramps) so we don’t have to worry about that so much, but the sugars we do.

      I’m hoping she gets over her aversion to touching things, because it’s difficult to get her to try new things if she can turn away.

      So cute about Emma and the apples though! Looks like something is done right! Here’s to the future!

  6. Kathleen October 26, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    I was at a restaurant with a friend and her toddler. She ordered a virgin daiquiri (the friend, not the toddler). It came, and my friend offered a sip to her toddler who, of course, willingly took it. The server was still standing there and kind of gave my friend a strange look. Then she said, “You know that has alcohol in it, don’t you?” The order was straightened out, the ALCOHOLIC beverage exchanged for a NON-alcoholic one!

    • mrssoup October 26, 2009 at 4:46 pm #

      Oh my!!

      My husband remembers going to a restaurant with his mom and sister, and they ordered ice tea. Turns out, the kids got Long Island Ice Teas. Ooops!

  7. Dcan October 26, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    I let my 8 yr old have some root beer, not knowing that it was Barq’s – Hello – caffiene!! Ooops. Today my 5 yr old was whining that all her friends at school eat white bread while she is stuck with wheat. And they det desserts for lunch. Say it isn’t so!

    • mrssoup October 27, 2009 at 8:19 am #

      Yeah, I can never remember which root beer has caffeine. It always kills me!

      And have you tried the white wheat bread? All the good stuff of wheat bread but it looks white, for those picky minded kids. Or my brother.

  8. Nana October 26, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    I know we have pictures of Avi’s Uncle Matt with a beer bottle. Was so cute, but bad too! 🙂 She is so cute.

    • mrssoup October 27, 2009 at 8:23 am #

      I love that picture….

  9. Badass Geek October 26, 2009 at 7:00 pm #

    *Sniff*

    I miss Mountain Dew.

    • mrssoup October 27, 2009 at 8:19 am #

      *patpat* There there. It misses you too.

  10. Yelena R. October 26, 2009 at 8:05 pm #

    Haha! I’ve seen a 20 month old boy take a sip of coke once…hilarious results 🙂 not for the mom of course, but to me it was very amusing…the same little boy will try anything from wasabi to quiche (which is actually his favorite meal… he actually open the fridge door and yell “Quiche!”

    • mrssoup October 27, 2009 at 8:20 am #

      Oh, I love that he loves quiche! How funny is that! I wonder if its because he enjoys just the word?

  11. Aunt Becky October 26, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    All of my kids have LOVED diet Coke. Doesn’t mean I often gave it to them, just that they loved it.

    • mrssoup October 27, 2009 at 8:22 am #

      Like Mother, like Children. lol.

  12. jenny October 27, 2009 at 11:34 am #

    I let my toddlers try my coffee the other day and my husband thought I was crazy! They’ve always loved the smell and they help me make it every day, so I gave them one sip one time. And you know what? They both liked it. Go figure! I figured they wouldn’t and wouldn’t be interested in smelling it so often now.

    I had fun reading through the comments…cute post!

    • mrssoup October 27, 2009 at 11:43 am #

      Hahahaha, yeah, Baby Soup has tried coffee and tea. She enjoys tea very much, but we only have given it to her a handful of times.

  13. Smileyfreak October 27, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    My sister eats everything and anything! it’s hilarious 🙂

    • mrssoup October 27, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

      😀

  14. Cheryl October 27, 2009 at 8:19 pm #

    brussel sprouts.
    that’s just child abuse.

    • mrssoup October 28, 2009 at 7:57 am #

      Unless she turns out like her Grandpa, I’ll agree with you. But my dad LOVES brussel sprouts….

  15. Cathy October 30, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Funny. Glad she didn’t drink any. She is too cute.

  16. Cathy October 30, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    You just have to know how to cook brussel sprouts. Braised in butter with a little lemon rind. Yummy.

    I waited a lot longer with my last baby to feed her solids, waiting more for when she wanted them. Worked wonderfully. I think our society pushes us to feed solids too early. Put good things in front of them and cook them in an appetizing way and eventually they eat them.

    • mrssoup October 30, 2009 at 10:28 am #

      We waited until Baby Soup was interested. And she enjoys them but it’s been difficult since she does NOT like touching slimy things. Hard to find foods that are soft enough for her to eat that aren’t slimy.

Leave a Reply

