Black Thumb

23 Oct

After reading Aunt Becky’s blog post today, I made a comment to her about how envious I was of her ability to grow plants.  There may, or may not, have been some mention of how I was completely rearranging my Facebook farm to include the new Dairy Farm and to make it prettier.  That is neither here nor there though.

Here is the honest truth.

I have a pair of black thumbs.  Black as they can get.  I look at plants and they die.

I’ve killed the un-killable.  Cacti, tomato plants, ferns.  You name it, I’ve most likely killed it.

Including a plastic plant.

Yup.

I’ve killed something that wasn’t even alive.

You know those great big fake plants they have?

Don’t leave them next to a base board heater.

I’m just saying.  Because you may, or may not, come home from a long day at work to realize that your plant had melted.  To the wall.

Oh look!

Cute baby!

Nekkid Baby!

12 Responses to “Black Thumb”

  1. Yelena R. October 23, 2009 at 12:52 pm #

    You are hilarious! I would say I have a black thumb too, but recently I’ve noticed that my basil plant is still surviving after weeks… *fingers crossed*

    Oh, and distracting people with a cute baby is always the way to go 🙂

    • mrssoup October 23, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

      Ooo, you’ll have to let me know if it still survives!

      I dream of a lovely garden, full of veggies and maybe some fruits….

      It might work if I don’t touch it and just send the husband and baby out to garden…must try that.

  2. Kathleen October 23, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    So, so funny…because that is me. That is me. But guess what? This spring I am going to take an adventure COMPLETELY out of my comfort zone. I am going to enter the world of gardening–of Square Foot Gardening. SUPPOSEDLY, even if you have thumbs like yours and like mine, you can be successful at Square Foot Gardening! I’ve already purchased my SFG book by the guru of SFG: Mel Bartholomew. Crossing my fingers I’ll be able to GROW something. Anything!

    • mrssoup October 23, 2009 at 1:52 pm #

      Oooooo, good luck!! Let me know how it goes and if it’s possible….I want to hear all the juicy details!

  3. Trinity October 23, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    You crack me up! I love the distraction….”Oh, look. Cute baby.” Clever.
    You know what really makes me laugh? Thinking of you laughing at my laughing and watching your nostrils flare while you laugh. That always made me laugh harder when we were little girls. I can see it all now. In fact, I’m laughing at you just thinking of it!
    (I’m with you on the black thumbs….I have managed to keep my silk flowers from dying, but I haven’t even attempted a live plant.)

    • mrssoup October 23, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

      Great, now I’m going to be self-conscious of my nose flaring all evening!

      Everyone else reading this, go look at the cute baby! Nothing to see here! Nope, not at all!

  4. Aunt Becky October 24, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    Bwahahahaha! That’s brilliance. And way to distract people with a picture of my child 😉

    • mrssoup October 25, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

      Ha! You just wish it was your child. :p

  5. Jill Scott October 24, 2009 at 8:32 pm #

    I finally gave up on houseplants. It seems once I had kids I couldn’t take the extra commitment. Having too many dependents was stressing me out. So don’t feel bad, you’re not alone.

    • mrssoup October 25, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

      Oooo, that’s a good idea. I’ll blame it on my daughter, not the fact that I kill them….good call!!

  6. kbreints October 26, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    hysterical…. You are really talented if you can kill the non-living ones too!

    • mrssoup October 26, 2009 at 8:44 am #

      What can I say, if I do something, I do it all the way!

Leave a Reply

