You Capture – Still Life

16 Oct

Photobucket

I know, a day late.  I was laid up yesterday with lovely vertigo…but here you go.

Still Life.

My dad retired as a volunteer firefighter this month.  We had a party at the fire house celebrating his 30 years of service.  45 years of service from his buddy.  Both amazing men, dedicating their lives and time to their city.  These are all seriously straight out of camera.  As in, didn’t even get to re-size them.

Engine 422

Fire Axe

Volunteer firefighters article

And one more, not technically a still life.  But he is life.
Laughing or Crying?and his granddaughter with him.

For more Still Lives visit Beth at I Should Be Folding Laundry.

26 Responses to “You Capture – Still Life”

  1. Andrea October 16, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    Oooh, I love the second one, with the helmet in the background. And congratulations to your dad! Firefighting is one of the most honorable professions, in my book.

    • mrssoup October 16, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

      Thank you! Yes, especially, to me, the volunteers. They don’t get as much recognition as the paid guys, but do so much work.

  2. Dallas Ann October 16, 2009 at 2:13 pm #

    Those first two are SO crisp. It’s like I could reach out and touch them!

    • mrssoup October 16, 2009 at 2:45 pm #

      😀

  3. Trinity October 16, 2009 at 7:38 pm #

    I have always been proud of the rich legacy of our fathers, and Uncle Rob…..and now Josh. They are heroes, every one. Congratulations to your Dad on his retirement.

    • mrssoup October 17, 2009 at 9:43 am #

      Sent from my iPhone

    • mrssoup October 17, 2009 at 9:44 am #

      Yes, we have been blessed to have great heroes in our family.

  4. Erin --It's Your Movie-- October 16, 2009 at 8:14 pm #

    These are beautiful! Seriously, the first one should be framed and hung in the firehouse. 😉 And congratulations to your Dad!

  5. Badass Geek October 17, 2009 at 5:01 am #

    Extend my thanks to your father, for volunteering his time and his life to such a noble thing for so many years. Congratulations to him on his retirement.

    The pictures are great, too!

    • mrssoup October 17, 2009 at 9:49 am #

      He says thank you for your thanks. That is why he does it, for the people. The families and friends. So thank you.

      Sent from my iPhone

  6. alice October 17, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    great pictures! i really like the first two. that’s cool about your dad retiring… not cool about your vertigo! i get that also and it is just miserable! i’m glad you got better so you could post your pictures 🙂

    • mrssoup October 19, 2009 at 8:13 am #

      Thank you! And yeah, Vertigo sucks…it’s so draining. Hopefully it’ll stay away this time.

  7. Tina October 17, 2009 at 9:27 pm #

    Great photos to commemorate a wonderful event! Just wonderful! Great job!

    • mrssoup October 19, 2009 at 8:13 am #

      Thank you so very much!

  8. Cathy October 17, 2009 at 11:21 pm #

    Awesome still life photos. And they tell such a story too. I love all of them…but I love the ax thing and where you put your focal point and I love the proud, but amused look of Grandad there. You did a wonderful job at capturing a momentous occasion.

    Cathy

    • mrssoup October 19, 2009 at 8:14 am #

      Thank you so very much! I took a lot of the axe and this one just had so much more character than the other ones I took.

  9. Heather October 19, 2009 at 9:50 am #

    Awesome pictures! I agree with Dallas Ann on the first two ~ they look so crisp and sharp!

    I hope you’re feeling better and had a wonderful weekend. 🙂

    • mrssoup October 19, 2009 at 9:52 am #

      Thank you! I love how they turned out…don’t even need to anything with them, which always makes my “job” easier.

  10. kbreints October 19, 2009 at 11:03 am #

    Love these 🙂 Great job!

    • mrssoup October 19, 2009 at 11:18 am #

      Thank you!

  11. bzmomma October 19, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

    Those are GREAT photos and SOOC too? WOW!

    LOVE them 😀

    • mrssoup October 19, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

      Thank you!! I just HAD to post them…even without editing, and now, I’m thinking I don’t want to edit the rest…and just send them to my dad resized only.

  12. Stephanie October 20, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    Love these…Great job!

    • mrssoup October 20, 2009 at 11:02 am #

      Thank you so much!

  13. Lorena October 20, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

    I love your newspaper still life… it’s so uniquely yours and the baby photo is precious! =) Beautiful

    • mrssoup October 21, 2009 at 8:53 am #

      Oh thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

