Faith

9 Oct

It seems like every Friday, all I can think about is how glad I am that the weekend is almost here.  No matter how the week goes, I’m exhausted.  This week in particular has been extremely draining.  Between sick baby, late night plans and the regular early mornings, sleep has been slim in my house.

This evening will be no exception, I’m sure.  Tonight, I drive into Portland with my cousin and baby to attend the Women of Faith conference.  We’ll be spending the evening and all day tomorrow listening and praising God.

I’m not a very religious person.  It’s been a while since I’ve been to church.  But I do have a lot of Faith.  Faith, to me, is very personal.  We have yet to find a church that we feel comfortable in.  We want to enjoy the music, the pastor and the people.  The big three.

Instead of church, we spend time praying in our beautiful forest.  Sometimes inside, sometimes out.  We then spend the afternoon at my parent’s house with family.  It works for us.  I actually feel more connected with God now than I did when I went to church on Sundays and Bible Studies on Wed.

It will be interesting to see how this weekend goes.  I am going to be very sad if they dwell on too many things that I don’t agree with.

But at least I will have my baby girl with me.  And I’ll be wearing her in our ring sling too, to keep her away from the “evil” germs.  People tend to be less in your baby’s face if she is attached at boob level.

How do you celebrate faith in your life?  It doesn’t have to be Faith in God.  It can be faith in your family, in life, in goodness or in the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

7 Responses to “Faith”

  1. jade @ Tasting Grace October 9, 2009 at 3:55 pm #

    I don’t consider myself a particularly religious person, though I do consider myself to be a very spiritual person. So to the extent that I believe we humans have a purpose in this life, I celebrate it by trying to be as self-reflective as I can. I’m by no means good at this all the time, or maybe even much of the time…but when I come to a crossroads where I am conscious of the fact I am making a choice, I try to make the choice that reflects compassion, understanding, forgiveness, and love – whether of others or of myself. Were I Christian, I would say I try to live my life as Christ would. I try to remind myself that the root of all angry or negative human actions is fear, and if I can understand why a person is afraid, and why they lash out in fear, then I can live with them more compassionately. This is how I celebrate my faith – by trying to live in in every breath I can. But I am human and falliable and inevitably mess up from time to time.

    • mrssoup October 9, 2009 at 4:07 pm #

      That was beautiful. Absolutely beautiful. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Aunt Becky October 11, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    I’m anxious to hear how it goes. Please, make sure to fill us in. I have more faith than I know what to do with and I think I’d love to do something like what you’re doing. Can’t wait to hear how it goes.

  3. bzmomma October 12, 2009 at 9:03 am #

    I grew up in a strict Roman Catholic family. We went to Church more than just on Sundays and the praying was constant. I got married when I was 7 months pregnant with our second child…So, where does that leave me? I still believe in God and have my faith, but don’t partake in all religious activities anymore…nor do we go to Church every Sunday. I feel bad about that, but…

    How was the conference?

    • mrssoup October 12, 2009 at 9:19 am #

      Having faith to me, is so much more important than having religion. Especially when religion starts becoming an obligation, not something you want to do.

      I’m working on my conference post right now, it should be up soon.

  4. brandon December 14, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    Wow this was potentially one of the most effective articles I have come across on the subject so far. I do not understand where you get all of your data but keep it coming! I am going to send a few folks over here to check this out. Amazing, totally fantastic. I’m have just started getting into spitting out articles myself, nothing compared to your writing skills (ha!) but I’d love for you to look over my article someday! bowflex

    • mrssoup December 14, 2009 at 10:38 am #

      Thank you for the compliment! That means a lot.

Leave a Reply

