Authors

6 Oct

I am a huge reader.  I love books and I love re-reading books.  The stories that people come up with are amazing.  As a child, I learned to read very early, if only so I could be transported into other worlds whenever I wanted.  Being sent to my room was never horrible, because I could always read and escape. The biggest punishment was being restricted from reading.

Some of you may remember that I met my husband from an online book community.  Our daughter is named after a book character.  Books have always been a significant part of my life.

One of my all time favorite book series is Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.  It’s a series that is difficult to explain, but is kind of a historical fiction fantasy.  An English nurse from 1950 gets transported through standing stones back to the 18th century Scotland.  It has action, adventure, romance, history….so many things.  The writing is superb, the characters are so full and the story is just amazing.

Last night, I had the priveledge of meeting Diana Gabaldon.  She was so sweet and unbelievabley smart.  With a bachelor’s in zoology, a master’s in marine biology and a Ph.D. in ecology, she is not your usual novelist and it shows in how she speaks, the stories she tells and the books she writes.

Diana Gabaldon, myself, my mom and my mother-in-law

Diana Gabaldon, myself, my mom and my mother-in-law

The new book is phenomenal and well worth the wait.

If you are looking for another book series to read, I highly recommend Outlander.  It has anything and everything one could want in a series.  If you’ve read it before, let me know so I can attack you and see if you’ve read the most recent book.  My mom is finishing her re-read and my mother-in-law is still on book 4, so I don’t have anyone to talk to about it!

And with that, I leave you with a poem from last night that she gave us:

In days of old

When nights were cold

Before condoms were invented.

They wrapped wool socks

Around their cocks

And that’s how babies were prevented.

18 Responses to “Authors”

  1. Aunt Becky October 6, 2009 at 10:49 am #

    That’s so cool. I wish that I could have been there. She sounds like a really neat person.

    • mrssoup October 6, 2009 at 11:02 am #

      She really was. Even being unimaginably exhausted, she was so warm and welcoming. And hilarious!

  2. Kathleen October 6, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    Oh my goodness…that is hilarious!! It’s funny because in my reader only the first two lines of that poem were showing, so the last three lines were quite unexpected!! 🙂 I have to admit I have not heard of this series; I will be sure to check it out!

    • mrssoup October 6, 2009 at 11:18 am #

      Hahahaha, that is too funny that only the first two lines were shown. So funny!

      Let me know what you think of it!

  3. Staci A October 6, 2009 at 11:57 am #

    How exciting! I’ll have to check out her books. The poem made me giggle…oh my!

    • mrssoup October 6, 2009 at 11:59 am #

      You’ll have to let me know what you think of them!

  4. katelin October 6, 2009 at 4:35 pm #

    oh very cool, sounds like a fun time and glad she was so nice.

    • mrssoup October 6, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

      It was so much fun. And yeah, I like it when famous people and pseudo-famous people are nice. It would be so easy for them to be otherwise.

  5. Janet October 6, 2009 at 6:42 pm #

    What a great opportunity! The poem made me chuckle.

    • mrssoup October 7, 2009 at 8:00 am #

      It was so fabulous!

  6. Heather October 7, 2009 at 7:25 am #

    It’s so cool that you got to meet her! I really need to devote some time to reading Outlander ~ if you love it so much, I’m sure I will too. 🙂 And that poem is hilarious!

    Started The Hunger Games yet? Speaking of re-reading, I’m starting to listen to the sequel on my Ipod for probably the tenth time this morning. The story just never gets old!

    Hope you have a wonderful day!

    • mrssoup October 7, 2009 at 7:55 am #

      I really think you’ll love it.

      And I haven’t started the Hunger Games. I’m failing, I know. lol. I may need to find someone that owns it, that might end up being easier. If not, I’ll have to wait until Christmas when I get a Barnes & Noble gift card and just buy it. Since I’m sure I’ll love it too.

  7. Stefany @ ToBeThode October 7, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    I loooove reading. Sadly, I don’t get as much time anymore but I enjoy it so much. I have actually gotten involved in a book the past few days and my schoolwork is going to be lacking because of it. oops.

    I haven’t read that series and no darn well I won’t be able to anytime soon. I will watch for them at garage sales though. One can never have too many books.

    • mrssoup October 7, 2009 at 9:33 am #

      Yes, one can never have too many books. Especially good books. And I remember when I was in school, I always had to make sure I put aside time to read something fun, because otherwise I went CRAZY.

  8. kbreints October 7, 2009 at 12:10 pm #

    LOL! So funny! 🙂 I LOVE to read, but I get so wrapped up in books that I cannot put it down until I am done with it… wish as you know with kids is bad. So I try to limit my reading to vacations. I am almost done with the one that I read on the plane over the weekend!

    • mrssoup October 8, 2009 at 7:58 am #

      I totally understand. I also have the ability to read multiple books at a time though, so I grab the reading whenever I can. Currently, while pumping at work even. It’s fun!

  9. Colleen October 4, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    I finally got around to searching this out on your blog. (I love that you have a search option… so cool!) The poem was short, not exactly sweet, and totally funny!

    • Mrs. Soup October 5, 2010 at 8:03 am #

      I adore my search option!

      And she is so awesome, isn’t she?!?!

Leave a Reply

