Intolerance

2 Oct

Now, don’t stop reading!  This won’t be a serious political post.  I have my thoughts and whatnot on so many things, but this is not the place for it.

Instead, I bring you intolerance so much closer to my heart.

Lactose.

That pesky sugar in dairy products.  Up until very very recently, I was intolerant of the lactose.

In college, I would have to visit the bathroom directly after every meal.  I’ll leave it at that.  Well, and add in pain.  Lots of pain.

One day, while in line to get my meal for the day, I noticed a pamphlet on the wall of pamphlets.  I was bored since I was in line alone, I think the rest of my roommates had a meeting or an early class or something.  I pulled it out and read it.  It listed the symptoms of lactose intolerance.  I had every single one of them.

So I thought I’d give this no dairy thing a try and see if I felt better.

Not surprisingly, it worked.  Amazing.

I felt incredible.  I didn’t spend nearly as much time in the bathroom, and was not in pain most of the day.  It was fantastic!

I figured it out just in time to take Lactaid pills with me to our trip to Paris.  Which worked, thank goodness, since I had plans to eat nothing but fantastic fresh loaves of bread and yummy yummy French cheeses.

I soon accepted it.  I ordered hamburgers instead of cheeseburgers.  Dairy Queen was the bane of my existance, after discovering they no longer carried “Breezes” which were Blizzards made out of frozen yogurt instead of ice cream.  Pizza was edible, only if I had 3 Lactaid pills and hadn’t had any dairy in the last 24 hours.  Lactaid milk arrived in our house.

Throughout the last 6 years of this, I’ve managed to discover that several other loved ones are lactose intolerant as well.  Upon discovering that, my husband, cousin and many others changed their diet and *poof* the symptoms went away.

Just recently though, I discovered something amazing.  After being pregnant and giving birth to Baby Soup, I wasn’t needing as many pills.  I could eat cheese on a sandwich with no problems.  So last weekend, I tested my theory.  For the past 6 years, I’ve only had frozen yogurt as a treat.  No ice cream, since even with the pills, it would still kill me.

I had a small bowl of ice cream.

I waited for the cramping sensation, the pain of my stomach turning in and over itself.  I waited and waited.

It never came.

I am now no longer lactose intolerant.

Praise the Lord!  I can now enjoy the wonders of Egg Nog ice cream this Christmas.  And Spumoni ice cream for dessert at the Spaghetti Factory.  Oh, and fondue!

Excuse me, I think I need to visit Dairy Queen……

Any one else lactose intolerant here?  Or allergic to something strange?

If you think you might be lactose intolerant, here are a list of symptoms.  Check it out.  It could change your life!

26 Responses to “Intolerance”

  1. Dcan October 2, 2009 at 12:56 pm #

    Hooooray! I can’t imagine how hard that would be – I love dairy. Enjoy your ice-cream!

    • mrssoup October 2, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

      I had ice cream with warm brownies for dessert on Tuesday…omg, I thought I had died and gone to heaven.

  2. Kathleen October 2, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

    I am not lactose intolerant, but isn’t it funny what pregnancy can do? I have a friend who had hair straight as straight can be. She had a few kids and Poof! Curly hair!

    • mrssoup October 2, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

      That is too funny! I didn’t have any of these things that people said would happen: beautiful skin, nails and hair. At least I got something good out of it other than my daughter.

  3. jade @ Tasting Grace October 2, 2009 at 7:19 pm #

    I’ve never been lactose intolerant but I did just recently hear that lactose intolerance is actually really common. Our digestive systems weren’t really built to handle dairy. I think I’v heard too that it is a cultural thing (or maybe racial)…some peoples of certain regions tend to have more difficulties with it than others.

    I find it really fascinating though that pregnancy changed that for you! I wonder why and how that happened. And thank goodness it didn’t go the other way around (lactose tolerance to intolerance). That would have been miserable indeed!

    • mrssoup October 5, 2009 at 8:37 am #

      Yeah, the research I’ve done over the years shows that different ethnicities have different percentages, like Asian decent has almost 100% chance of having lactose intolerance. It’s amazing how our bodies work and change. Crazy!

      And yes, I am so glad it didn’t go the other way. At least I got something good out of vomiting for 9 months straight other than my beautiful daughter!

  4. Kristen Metzger October 2, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    I am on the intolerant list! But only a little – I usually manage it either with avoidance or just taking a pill or two. My reactions seems to depend on the kind of dairy. Like, fro-yo, yogurt and small amounts of cheese I usually don’t get more than gassy (TMI?), but if I drink a glass of milk or eat rich ice-cream, then it is down-right painful.

    Glad to hear pregnancy cleared it up for you! I hope it stays permanent!

    • mrssoup October 5, 2009 at 8:28 am #

      Mine depended on the type of dairy as well as how stressed I was. It was always iffy if the pills would even work sometimes. Have you tried using Lactaid milk instead? David may even like it. It doesn’t taste completely different like Soy. We’ll keep drinking Lactaid milk, because it tastes so much better than regular.

  5. Badass Geek October 3, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    Our body chemistry changes every few years, so that change in your chemistry was very welcoming I’m sure!

    My change, with the aspirin intolerance, on the other hand…

    • mrssoup October 5, 2009 at 8:13 am #

      Yeah, my change was happy, yours….not so much.

  6. bzmomma October 3, 2009 at 2:11 pm #

    I am not lactose intolerant, but maybe a little? Milk is not my friend, but totally tolerable when, and only when I’m pregnant. I have no problems with ice cream or cheeses or anything else dairy.

    However, I think Razz (my 2 year old) might be??? We’re going to try giving her Lactaid milk which was recommended by her new Pediatrician…We shall see…

    • mrssoup October 5, 2009 at 8:34 am #

      That is funny that the milk only affects you when you are pregnant. Very interesting.

      Oh, I hope that the Lactaid milk works for your daughter! We are still going to buy it, because we think it tastes better than regular milk. Good luck!

  7. Aunt Becky October 3, 2009 at 3:01 pm #

    Dude. That’s AWESOME. And I want to eat a celebratory cheeseburger FOR you. If only I could eat…

    • mrssoup October 5, 2009 at 8:34 am #

      I’ll eat a celebratory cheeseburger for you, how’s that?

  8. Jen October 4, 2009 at 12:48 pm #

    Yay!! Terrific!

    The exact same thing happened to my friend, but it was totally unrelated to pregnancy. I guess whatever was causing the intolerance fixed itself.

    • mrssoup October 4, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

      That is so awesome! Very cool.

  9. erin -- it's your movie -- October 4, 2009 at 9:17 pm #

    You want to hear something weird? My husband was horribly and severely lactose intolerant until he had his appendix out. Now he can eat dairy without any problems. Weird, right?? Congratulations on ice-cream. 🙂

    • mrssoup October 5, 2009 at 8:12 am #

      That is SO weird!! Bodies are so crazy….

  10. theefficientparent October 5, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    Yay!! Glad you have had success. I would D-I-E if I couldn’t drink gallons upon gallons of milk each week. I need to buy a cow.

    • mrssoup October 6, 2009 at 11:58 am #

      Ahahaha, when you buy the cow I want to see pictures!

  11. kbreints October 6, 2009 at 7:06 am #

    Just recently did I become lactose intolerant and it has been rough having to cut out dairy– b/c I love it so much… but since I figured out my problem and made the adjustments things are much better.

    I SOOO Miss my giant glass of milk with dinner though!

    • mrssoup October 6, 2009 at 11:58 am #

      It’s rough. Try the Lactaid pills and Lactaid milk. If they work, it will seriously change your life.

  12. Cathy October 6, 2009 at 11:48 am #

    So strange…glad for you though.

    • mrssoup October 6, 2009 at 11:59 am #

      Our bodies are very weird…..can’t complain too much!

  13. Joane October 8, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    My daughter thought she was lactose intolerant. She later found out she has Celiac disease. People with Celiac often become lactose intolerant. Since she has been eating gluten free, she too can eat dairy again.

    • mrssoup October 9, 2009 at 8:08 am #

      Now that is interesting. I have a friend who has an extreme case of Celiac, and it is no fun!

Leave a Reply

