Friend Makin Mondays – 20 Questions

31 Aug

Hurray!  FMM is back with a vengeance!  Go visit Amber to play!

1. Do you cook every night?
Ha!  Hahahaha.  AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA*coughsplutterchokegasp*  No.  I pretty much only cook on Tuesdays when Mr. Soup is at my brother’s playing D&D.  And I’m home alone.  And then, it’s either PB&J, Mac and Cheese or OCCASIONALLY I’ll “splurge” and make a salad.  But if it requires me to do something other than boil water, I’ll usually ruin it.  Or sometimes even boiling water can be ruined.

2. What kind of laundry detergent do you use & why?
We use Amway’s detergent.  It’s lovely and cloth diaper safe.  Although, we are using some Dreft, because we got a free huge box of it.  Yay for freebies!


3. Do you do laundry every day or loads at a time?

We usually do loads at a time.  Diaper laundry is run every 2-3 days and the rest, as needed.  These weekend we did 8 loads, including all of our sheets and the clothes we found in a box that we finally got around to unpacking.

4. How often do you eat out per week?
Almost never.  With only one worker in the household, it’s a rare thing.  Sometimes, we’ll have $.89 burritos at Taco Bell on Tuesdays when Mr. Soup is D&Ding and I’m not feeling up to “cooking”.  Occasionally though, we’ll go out with my Mother-in-Law on Thursdays when it’s too hot to have cooked food at her house.

5. Where do you usually eat out?
Taco Bell, Teriyaki Woo (a great teriyaki place, with smiley faces in the O’s.  The lady is so cute!), a mexican place by my MIL’s house.  Or Red Robin.  Oh, sometimes McDonald’s.  Yay dollar menu!  We have such a high class palate…


6. What is your favorite retail store?

ROSS!!  And Target.

7. What’s your favorite thing to drink?
Use to be Dr. Pepper and will be again once I stop breastfeeding.  But now, water with the occasional Root Beer or Caffeine Free Pepsi.  Although I’ve enjoyed water so much more, ever since experiencing months of not being able to drink it at all.


8. Do you take vitamins? What kind?

I have prenatals and calcium to take….that I really should remember to take.  Our new place doesn’t have a medicine cabinet so all our items are in drawers, which makes me forget it.

9. What percentage of the household chores to you do?
Probably around 5-10%?  I fold the laundry and put it away.  And…that’s about it.  I love being the working parent!  Oh, except I am also in charge of the money and the bills.  Does that count as household chores?  And I take care of the baby on the weekends and at night from when I get home until I leave in the morning.  So more than that percentage I guess.

10. Do your children do chores? {Or will they, did they, etc}
They will!


11. Do you go to church?

Not really.  We have tried to find a church that we enjoy and have not had any luck.  So we have our personal family spiritual time instead.

12. Do you have a housework schedule?
Nope.

13. Do you keep a working budget?
Yes.  Every penny is detailed on where it goes and when it leaves.  Mr. Soup was in charge when we first were married, but after the late payments that did not work.

14. What do you do at night as a family?
We eat dinner together, watch a movie or TV show and usually have some snuggly time on the bed.

15. How do you prepare yourself for a new week?
Try and relax Sunday morning.  Reading, watching a good show, drinking some tea…doing what I can to get motivated.

16. What do your mornings look like?
Depends on what you count as morning.  Usually sometime between 1 and 4am, I’m awakened by a frustrated cry from Baby Soup.  I bleerily stumble to the nursery, pick her up and bring her back to bed.  Pop out a boob and fall back asleep.  I’ve tried feeding her and putting her back in the crib, but she always pops up again with a HUGE grin on her face saying “MORNING MOMMY!”.  If I bring her into bed with us, she falls back asleep and is good for another couple hours.

The alarm for work goes off at 6am.  I tell Mr. Soup to snooze it.  Repeat several times.  I finally get up, shower, contacts, hair and makeup.  Oh, and get dressed.  Or at least halfway, before I feed Baby Soup again.  Also let the dogs out.  (insert old song here “who, who who who who”.)

In the car and on the road by 7:10.  Get to work, morning pumping session, make my breakfast (I have an entire stockpile of food items at work) and clock in.  Thus begins my morning.

17. What time do you get up in the mornings?
Usually 6:15ish.

18. What time do you go to bed at night?

I am the opposite of a night owl.  If I could be in bed at 8 every night I so would.  But usually 9ish.  If I’m feeling REALLY chipper or have something to do, I might splurge and stay up until 10.  But that rarely happens.  I turn into a kumquat by midnight.

19. How do you manage all of the paperwork that floods into your household? {bills, school work, magazines, ads, etc}
My biggest tip is to have as little paperwork as possible.  I go through anything that comes in the mail right away.  Partially because it cuts down on the buildup but also because I love seeing what comes.  We also only have 2 bills that come in the form of paper, everything else is paid online.  What we aren’t going to need to keep, we store in a box by the fireplace and periodically will burn it.  We only get Parents magazine and only get the free weekly paper.  We only keep ads we KNOW we will use.

If there is a paper we know we will need (invitation, coupon, gift card, etc.) we tack it to the bulliton board in our kitchen.

20. How do you keep your household organized? {calendars, charts, etc}

We try to keep everything as electronic as possible.  Google is a LIFESAVER.  We use the calendar, docs, etc.  We’ll see as Baby Soup gets bigger what is needed to keep track of her things, but for now, that’s it.

8 Responses to “Friend Makin Mondays – 20 Questions”

  1. Heather August 31, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

    girl, you and i are SO lucky to have found men who can cook! otherwise, you know we’d be starvin’!

    nate sometimes asks me what i ate in college when i had to fend for myself. my response: cheez-its, microwave popcorn, and white rice from haggen. not the most balanced of diets, but it got the job done!

    • mrssoup September 1, 2009 at 8:16 am #

      Seriously!! I lived on things in a box and would die without my microwave. Somehow I managed to survive…. I hope my daughter cooks like him and not me!

  2. Badass Geek September 1, 2009 at 6:05 am #

    Cooking? What’s that?

    • mrssoup September 1, 2009 at 8:16 am #

      I know, right?!

  3. kbreints September 1, 2009 at 2:29 pm #

    Oh girl… #18… you and me both!! I love me some Pj’s and early bed time 🙂

    • mrssoup September 1, 2009 at 2:33 pm #

      I know, right? Bedtime is wonderful….

  4. Inna September 2, 2009 at 6:50 pm #

    mmmm, Taco Bell is my favorite! 🙂

    And I’m a morning person as well. I am non-functional after 10 pm.

    • mrssoup September 3, 2009 at 8:00 am #

      Yes, exactly! On New Year’s Eve, I’m USELESS! I have to have a nap if I want to even MAKE it to the countdown.

Leave a Reply

