Friday is Here!

7 Aug

It seems to be a common comment around the blogs today.  The joy of the weekend almost arriving, another work week being put behind us.

I am no exception.

Tomorrow we are getting firewood (for free!  Yay Craigslist!) and our landlords will be back.

We’ll be able to move back home.  To sleep in our own bed.  Eat our own food.  Use our own computers.

Living for a couple days at my Mother-in-Laws has actually been a good experience.

We’ve changed up our morning routine a bit, since it is closer to work and has TV.  The mornings start out with Mr. Soup taking Baby Soup into the living room to eat breakfast and drink some coffee and playing with her while I take a shower and get ready.  We then sit and watch the news while I get her ready.

We never really watched the news before.  I got most of my news from the internet and he got his from the radio and the Vlog Brothers.

We just finished watching The West Wing (an amazing show, if you haven’t seen it put it on your Netflix NOW!) and have turned our mindset into more of a political mindset.  No, political is the wrong term.  I don’t know how to describe it, but we are wanting to be more informed.

In the past, we would learn of a current event from one of our outlets and if we were interested would do the research.  Find out what Congress was doing, what was going on in Asia or the Middle East and do the work ourselves.  But we would miss out on some things, because we would only hear what others think were important.

Now yes, I realize that newscasters are biased.  I realize they are putting forth what they think are important.  But because they are on for a longer period of time (not the 5 minute radio spot) and share stuff that isn’t being searched for, we are learning so much more.

We like learning in our house.

So now, we may have to hook up our tv to cable and see what kind of tv we get.  Because I want to stay informed.

What about you?  How do you get your news?

What are you looking at me like that?  I learned to crawl just to get the puppy....

"What are you looking at me like that? I learned to crawl just to get the puppy...."

8 Responses to “Friday is Here!”

  1. Inna August 7, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    I get my news from the internet. I usually just read the nytimes homepage. But somedays when I don’t feel like being sad, I don’t read the news at all 🙂

    • mrssoup August 7, 2009 at 1:14 pm #

      Haha, I agree with the not being sad. That’s the one thing I don’t like is how depressing the news can be.

  2. Badass Geek August 7, 2009 at 1:07 pm #

    I catch the local news at night, but thats about it. National news programs just seem to be too biased for my liking.

    • mrssoup August 7, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

      Yeah, it does tend to be biased. Course, the local news tends to be as well. Alas, if there are people, there are going to be bias. (Biases? Biasis? Biasedness?)

  3. Jen August 8, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    I am guilty of just getting my news from the internet too. I can’t watch the local news (wayyyy too depressing living in Baltimore–murders every day) and the national news gets on my nerves. Honestly, I like tuning in to the Daily Show every once in awhile. I know it is very biased, but Jon Stewart cracks me up and I feel like I am at least catching up on some of my current events while getting a good laugh.

    • mrssoup August 10, 2009 at 9:03 am #

      I *LOVE* John Stewart. On my morning drive, no matter what station I’m listening to on the radio, at 7:19 I switch over to KUFO to listen to the John Stewart Minute. I wish I could stay up late enough to watch him! He’s so great!

  4. kbreints August 10, 2009 at 8:50 am #

    uh yeah– I am seriously living in my own little bubble. I don’t watch the news. I don’t listen to talk radio, The boys have control of the TV as far as programming due to not wanting them to see adult things… so we play outside or if we watch tv at all it is their programming. Then it is all non-news related for me when I am trying to relax.

    So– my mom or my boss fills me in.

    Maybe that is why I am the positive person among stressed out people!

    • mrssoup August 10, 2009 at 9:01 am #

      Haha, that could be why you are a positive person! And I totally understand the kids taking control of the TV programing.

      At least your boss and mom contact you with the information!

Leave a Reply

