Drained

5 Aug

I mentioned earlier how refreshing this past weekend was.  I felt recharged and ready to go!

Then yesterday happened.

Nothing huge.  Just a bunch of little things eating into the day.

Like the sodas for the lunches I had to pick up that decided they wanted to be spilled all over the backseat of my car.

And the reading wrong of a post of a dear friend that I wish I could go back and edit.

And the stupid people calling on the phone that piss me off.

And a baby that decided sleeping for longer than 20 minutes was for the weak.

But the topper?  The great grand-daddy of the straw that broke the camel’s back?

Let me start off by describing the makeup of where we live.

We are down in a valley in the country.  Here are some photos from before we moved.

Needless to say, we don’t get high-speed internet.  We barely get phone service.  Our trash has to be driven about a mile in order to be picked up.

We LOVE it though.  So peaceful and tranquil and wonderful.

Our water comes from a mountain fed spring.  Seriously.  We take showers in water that people pay lots of money to be placed into plastic bottles and drink.

It tastes wonderful.

But last night?  Not so much.

Our older toilet runs sometimes and my dear husband still hasn’t QUITE gotten the hang of the jiggle of the handle.  I lifted the tank lid and fixed it and discovered something rather gross.

The water was brown.

Like, mud brown.

Looked in the bowl of the toilet and there was a huge ring of sediment.  Gross.

Checked the sink faucet.  Same thing.  The shower?  After a little bit it turned brown too.

Which means I couldn’t brush my teeth or take my medication.  And this morning?  I forgot to bring it with me.  Oh, and I also couldn’t shower this morning.

So my husband is with the baby at my brother’s house while he tries to contact our landlord.  Because they are camping until Saturday.

Is it Friday yet?

13 Responses to “Drained”

  1. Badass Geek August 5, 2009 at 1:09 pm #

    That is not fun. Hope it gets resolved soon.

    • mrssoup August 5, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

      As do I. I am just thankful that my parents live close enough that we can stay there if it won’t be resolved for days.

  2. Inna August 5, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    Yuck, brown water sucks. My apartment growing up sometimes had brown water whenever we turned on the hot water. It took the apt people forever to change the tank so that we’d stop getting brown water.

    Here is to hoping everything gets fixed soon!

    • mrssoup August 5, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

      Thank you! I’m hoping it happens soon as well!

  3. Aunt Becky August 5, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

    Imagine me stringing a number of expletives together.

    • mrssoup August 5, 2009 at 3:20 pm #

      My thoughts exactly.

  4. Dallas Ann August 5, 2009 at 3:44 pm #

    It is so weird that your landlords don’t have a backup person to call in case of serious problems. Any private renting situation I’ve been in has had backup. OMG @ having to wait until possibly Sunday to talk to them if they don’t get into town until late Saturday!

    ❤ you. A lot. You know that, right?

  5. Heather August 5, 2009 at 8:43 pm #

    Oh that is horrible! I am so so sorry! Fingers crossed that the problem magically resolves itself! 🙂

    • mrssoup August 6, 2009 at 9:19 am #

      Yeah, it’s fun….here’s hoping a resolution soon!!

  6. bzmomma August 6, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    Ewww…sorry to hear about that, but you know what stunned me most? The fact that you have NO high speed internet? What? How do you do it? Blog and post pictures and…and…everything else? I *bow* to you!

    heheh

    • mrssoup August 6, 2009 at 11:27 am #

      Shhhh, don’t tell anyone. But I post at work. *gasp* That’s my secret. Well, that and I “steal” my parent’s internet when we visit them weekly. But yeah….I would die without access at work.

      Hehehe. If only I could edit photos here too…..

  7. kbreints August 6, 2009 at 1:24 pm #

    oh no! I am SO sorry. I hope that today was better?

    • mrssoup August 6, 2009 at 1:29 pm #

      Better in the sense that we have water….not as much in the sense that we are staying with my mother-in-law until we get it fixed.

Leave a Reply

