4 Years Continued

23 Jul

Today marks the fourth anniversary of my marriage to my perfect match.  When I last left you, I had just left my boyfriend in Chicago to fly back to Disney.  I didn’t know what would happen next, but took solace in the fact that things would work out.  They had to.

The next month, in May, was his birthday.  Originally his mom was going to buy him tickets to see Dave Matthew’s Band in concert.  He asked her instead to pay for a plane ticket to come up and visit.  I was so excited.  Especially since the weekend that worked best ended up being the same one that my parents were visiting my dad’s Air Force buddies in Minnesota.  I could have them meet the man I loved!  It was perfect!

Our plan was this: I would fly into Chicago where we would then drive to Minnesota, visit with my parents and stay a full day, then drive back to Indiana the next morning to meet his mom, her boyfriend and his sister, before taking me back to Chicago to fly back to Florida.  It would be busy and crazy, but totally worth it.

I knew at some point during that weekend, he would propose.  He wouldn’t tell me when, but since we would be meeting my parents, he would get the chance to ask for my hand from my dad.

It didn’t quite work out that way.

My plane was late.  Mr. Soup came driving into Chicago and ended up having to wait for almost 6 hours before I arrived.

If you’ve ever been in the Chicago Midway airport, you’ll know that there is a long lane before you get to where you can meet visitors.  Walking down that was the longest trip I had ever had.  I could see him.  It had only been a couple weeks, but all I wanted was to be in his arms.  I wanted to run, but was too tired.  Finally though, I made it.  Wrapped in his arms, I was home.

After that great hug, he pulled me to the side and said he had something to give me.  He handed me a card.  While I was reading it, I noticed a strange lady popping in and out from around the corner but just thought it was some crazy lady and got back to reading.  It was filled with amazing thoughts and words.  I went to hug him thanks, and he got down on his knee.  He proposed to me right there in the airport, on almost the exact spot where we had had our first kiss.

The crazy lady?

She was taking pictures.  She was someone he had just met who was waiting for her son and Mr. Soup asked her to take pictures while he proposed to his girlfriend.

Non-chalantly giving me a card.

Reaching for the ring as I try to hug him in thanks.

Reaching for the ring as I try to hug him in thanks.

First Kiss as an Engaged Couple!

First Kiss as an Engaged Couple!

How many of you have photos of your proposal?

13 Responses to “4 Years Continued”

  1. kbreints July 23, 2009 at 6:26 am #

    That is DARLING! SO SPECIAL! I do NOT have photos of mine…

    • mrssoup July 23, 2009 at 8:11 am #

      I LOVE it so much!

  2. Heather July 23, 2009 at 8:05 am #

    So sweet! I love that you have pictures of your proposal! And my, what a short courtship you two had! :o)

    • mrssoup July 23, 2009 at 8:13 am #

      I love it too. They are all over our house….

      And yeah, super short courtship. Looking back, I kinda think “What was I thinking?” But it felt right and I was at peace with all the decisions made. At that is what made it feel right.

  3. Dallas Ann July 23, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    None of mine since it was so spontaneous! Of course, I was expecting it and had already purchased my wedding gown. LOL

    • mrssoup July 23, 2009 at 11:56 am #

      Ahahaha. I remember that! It was meant to be. 😉

  4. Jen July 23, 2009 at 1:45 pm #

    What a sweet story!! I’ve always found the airport to be romantic. Maybe it is because I have all the romantic movies in my mind where the character runs through it to catch the love of their life before they get on the plane.

    I wish I had some photos of the proposal. It would have been easy to do since his whole family knew about it and were sitting right there when he asked me. It was a total shock to me, but they could have at least been more prepared.

    • mrssoup July 23, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

      Awww, how sweet that he did it in front of your family! I hope he knew what the answer would be, even if you didn’t know it was coming!

      And I totally agree with you about airports. One of my favorite parts of one of my favorite movies is in Love Actually, the beginning and the end. Airports are wonderful. Especially the arrivals area. So much happiness and love!

  5. Badass Geek July 24, 2009 at 6:15 am #

    Very nice! The element of surprise is good in such a situation.

    • mrssoup July 25, 2009 at 4:01 pm #

      Absolutley! He did good.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. An Angel « - January 27, 2010

    […] came back from Florida engaged.  Introducing Angel to Mr. Soup was easy.  Love at first sight and another human to love on […]

  2. iHeart Faces – Places I Love « - February 1, 2010

    […] The most romantic place to me though, as random as it seems, is the Chicago Midway airport.  Where we had our first kiss.  And also, got engaged. […]

  3. 4 Years « - February 11, 2010

    […] in tomorrow to hear the rest of the engagement story!  Link here: Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)An AngelWordful Wednesday – RAFOHappy […]

Leave a Reply

