4 Years

22 Jul

Four years ago tomorrow Mr. Soup and I got married. But I’ve already talked about that beautiful day already.  I thought I would do something different and tell you the story of how we met.

First off, let me explain something.

I am a geek.  Seriously.  100% geek.  Play D&D, have a W0W account (even if its not active anymore), love movies, and love reading.  Especially fantasy books.  One of my favorite series is The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan.

When I was away at Cottey College, I discovered that I had a lot of free time on my hands.  I didn’t have Dance Team to keep me occupied.  Nor did I have Rainbow events to go to every weekend.  My classes didn’t take up all that time.  Even being on the Student Government didn’t keep me super busy.

So I started reading again.  Reading anything I could get my hands on.  I had my brother send me the books he had been trying to get me to read for YEARS.  There were 8 huge books out (I’m talking between 300 to 1,000 pages) and kept me busy.  I loved them!  To occupy even more of my time, I discovered this thing called the internet and more specifically, web based communities.  I went through a couple but became extremely interested in Tarvalon.net.  This site drew me in and I was hooked.  The people (there were about 45 or so members from all over the world) were amazingly friendly and helpful and I loved it.  This past January I celebrated my 7th year as a member of the site.

Something that marks it special is that it is a community, not a role-playing site, and over the years has grown and molded itself into an amazing community that has 3 large get-togethers just in the North American continent a year.  There are over 2,000 members all over the world, with scheduled annual get-togethers on the European continent and for those that live Down Under.

Man can I digress quickly….

Anyway, at one of those events in Tennessee I met a guy.  One of many, except he stuck out in my mind.  First off, he was tall.  As a not short lady myself I always have my eyes on the tall ones.  I don’t even know if we ever really talked more than a few words to each other but I distinctly remember taking this photo:

for reference - my future husband, someone I fought with, ex-lovah, ex-brother type figure, buddy, fellow Mason and current brother type/warder

Fast forward to 2004.  I was working at Walt Disney World and had gotten sick.  I had to stay home from work for several days because I had done something to my voice and it was getting into my lungs.  I got a call.  To this day, neither of us remember how my phone number got into his hands, which is just the first of many blessings and nudges to come.

We talked for 4 hours.

Let me mention as well.  I am not a phone person.  I don’t really like talking on the phone and use to break out in hives if I had to call someone I didn’t know really well.  It’s gotten better (I don’t have to give myself a pep talk before calling the doctor) but I still have moments.  To talk to anyone longer than 30 minutes was a huge undertaking.

Before we hung up, he asked if he could call me again.  I told him he better.

The next day, we talked for hours again.  Both of us were getting this feeling, but it’s not something you talk about with someone you’ve just been talking to on the phone for two days and hadn’t seen in person in years.

What happened the next day is just amazing in my mind.

Both of us have a strong faith in God but neither of us are specifically religious.  We both believe in a personal connection with Him.  We decided it would be fun to flip through the Bible, one person says stop and we read that passage.  We did this a couple times, laughing at the random words or agreeing with some.  Then it was his turn again and he said stop.  I looked down and read the following:

1 John 4:18 – There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love.

That first part seemed to be bolded and shining.  I read it and remember just sitting on the phone, dumbstruck.  This is what we needed.  At that point, we knew.  We knew we were suppose to be together.  Come hell or highwater, there was something here.  It scared us both but once we started talking about the future, there was an incredible sense of peace.

God kicked us in the butts, as we like to say, and we listened.

A month later, we got to see each other again.  There was a get-together going on in Chicago.  I flew in and we got our first kiss.  That weekend, we were camping.  There was so much rain that the tent area flooded and we slept in the back of his car.  It was one of the best weekends of my life.

Having to leave though?  Made it the hardest.  We had no clue when we would get to see each other again.  But we hoped it would be soon.

Tune in tomorrow to hear the rest of the engagement story!  Link here:

13 Responses to “4 Years”

  1. Jill Scott July 22, 2009 at 10:05 am #

    Great story. I LOATHE the telephone too. Whenever I get my hair cut I have to schedule my next appointment or else I’ll put it off for eight months because I hate picking up the phone to set up the appointment. I know it’s crazy, but that’s that way I am.

    Did your husband go to UC Berkeley? I ask because of his cap. Peanut Head did his graduate work at Cal.

    • mrssoup July 22, 2009 at 10:28 am #

      No, I totally understand. I wouldn’t even call for pizza, no matter how hungry I was. It was horrible!

      And no, he didn’t. But he did live in the area and when he was younger, his mom’s boyfriend gave him that hat and he wore it all the time.

  2. Heather July 22, 2009 at 11:32 am #

    Oh my goodness! I can’t wait to hear more!!!

    • mrssoup July 22, 2009 at 11:35 am #

      😀

  3. kbreints July 22, 2009 at 12:09 pm #

    Oh this is so sweet!

    And I was the same way with the phone until I had to FORCE myself b/c of my occupation. To some extent still… I hate it.

    • mrssoup July 22, 2009 at 12:12 pm #

      😀

      Yeah, I still hate it but being forced into it has really lowered my freak-out moments. Which is wonderful.

  4. Badass Geek July 22, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

    Happy (early) Anniversary!

    • mrssoup July 22, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

      Thank you sir!

  5. Cassie February 14, 2010 at 5:17 pm #

    What a sweet way to start a relationship! It’s funny that he can’t remember how he got your number…obviously someone thought you two would be great together!

    Thank you for linking up on my blog. Happy Valentines Day!

    • mrssoup February 15, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

      Yes, we always talk about how God just threw us together. You can’t argue with God! Well, you can, but not successfully!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 4 Years Continued « - July 23, 2009

    […] 4 Years 4 Years Continued July 23, 2009 Today marks the fourth anniversary of my marriage to my […]

  2. I Wanna Get Married Again! « - July 24, 2009

    […] This past week or so my mind has been on weddings.  Thinking about my 4th Wedding Anniversary, my proposal, as well as receiving a good longtime friend’s wedding invitation in the mail, has got me […]

  3. Five Years « - July 23, 2010

    […] you want to read about our proposal, click here!)  Oh, and all images were taken by the amazing Sikora […]

Leave a Reply

