My Weekend…Initiation into the Worst Mother Club.

20 Jul

We had some very good friends come visit us this past weekend.  Every time a Harry Potter movie comes out, we must go to it!  Usually we make the midnight showing (complete with cards, blankets and somewhat questionable bottles of open alcohol….shhh, don’t tell anyone!) but with a 3 year old and a 6 month old, that plan doesn’t work so well.  That, and the two of them life 4 hours away.  Hard to do on a Tuesday night.  So we did it Saturday instead and got the 3 grandparents to watch both kids!  Huzzah!  They arrived Friday evening and we didn’t get to sleep until 11:30.  Not because we stayed up talking until then (okay, we did…but not by choice).  Nope, the lovely and glorius cutest little boy had taken a 2 hour nap in the car…and was WIDE AWAKE.

The movie was fantastic.  So funny and amusing.  Yes, it didn’t follow the book a whole lot but still enjoyable.  I missed having parts cut out, but overall, well done.  It’ll be interesting to see how the next two are done, but I see this one as a Empire Strikes Back/Two Towers type of film.  It’s nothing without the next part.  A platform to jump off into the finale.

Oh, and Ron Weasley.  Yum!  I’m a dirty dirty person now….

Then Sunday we took 6 month photos.  The same lovely and amazing Katie of KBV Photography that took our 3 month photos came out to our new place.  Baby Soup woke up so happy and excited we jumped right in!  Started out in the portable studio she brought and hooked up and our baby girl was showing off.  Laughing, giggling and posing like a professional.  I cannot wait to see how they turn out….

But it started getting hot under the lights.  Even though it was hot outside, we thought we would give it a shot.  She’s been sitting up really well and we set her on the stairs by our deck.  It didn’t work as well so we put her down on the barkdust where she could dig her toes in.  Posing and smiling again with Katie shooting away, I went to ask Mr. Soup to get her hat so we could get the sun out of her eyes.  I turned away and in those split seconds, I hear a cry such as I have never heard from her before.

She had fallen over, face first, into the barkdust.  My heart dropped and I felt like the most horrible mother in the world.  I scooped her up and saw, to my horror that her beautiful rosy cheek was full of splinters and had cuts on it.  Her leg had a huge scratch and her eyes for overflowing with tears.  I started crying as well as I carefully tried to wipe off the splinters, blood and dirt.  We got her calmed down eventually, but she wasn’t the same the rest of the day.

My normal happy and smiling girl was serious.  She watched things silently and would occasionally give a small smile but they were rare.  Even when with her puppy in the studio again, we got only a quick smile or two.  It didn’t help that it was so hot.

We did get some good shots, but now, everytime I look at her beautiful creamy skin marred by the cuts, I just want to curl up and cry.

What was your first “I’m the worst parent ever” moment?  I know I’m not the first one, but still feel awful…share your stories with me!

14 Responses to “My Weekend…Initiation into the Worst Mother Club.”

  1. Heather July 20, 2009 at 11:43 am #

    Oh sweetie, it wasn’t your fault! Accidents happen! And you are totally not the worst parent ever!

    I had my first “I’m the worst puppy parent ever” moment Friday night ~ Daisy and I were playing and somehow she slipped on the hardwood floor and fell down. She started yelping like I’ve never heard and I was 100% convinced that she had broken one of her legs. She was holding it at a horrible angle and her eyes were starting to glaze over because of the pain. I freaked out and passed her off to Nate because I didn’t know what to do. Two minutes later, she was completely fine, but I feel so bad that I freaked too much to be the one to comfort her. Never again!

    • mrssoup July 20, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

      Awwww, puppy accidents are horrible too, because they don’t understand….but at least you learned what your reaction was and can work on it!

      My heart hurts for you. And still hurts when I think about my poor princess….

  2. kbreints July 20, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

    oh dear. How about the time I locked Henry in the car? Or the time he fell of the changing table? How about when Dan dropped the tail gate of the truck on him? Or the time Sam fell down the stair end over end?

    Listed out like that maybe DHS needs to be called in 😦

    kids get hurt…. The first time is a bummer and you feel terrible… but she will be fine… You? You will be scarred for life!

    Can’t wait to see the pictures 🙂

    • mrssoup July 20, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

      Totally will be scarred for life….I just hope the same doesn’t happen to her. If she’s gotten my skin, she very well may scar from the cut on her face….

      And I’ve been told the pictures will be here by the 31st, so I’m very excited.

  3. Badass Geek July 21, 2009 at 5:51 am #

    Like everyone said already, that doesn’t make you a horrible parent. It’s bound to happen again, but I’m sure you’ll be more (emotionally) prepared then.

    • mrssoup July 21, 2009 at 9:40 am #

      Yeah, I’ve managed to breathe through it but still feel absolutely horrible. Now that the first has happened, I think I’ll be okay. I hope.

  4. Mary at Musingsofthesixties July 21, 2009 at 10:21 am #

    Such a sad post. And so familiar. I raised six kids and my first ‘awful parent’ moment was so terrible that I won’t share it. Suffice it to say it makes yours look like the little gliche it was. Just a bump. Not your fault. And when she heals it’s to be forgotten. You are obviously a loving, attentive mother and your princess is a lucky little girl.

    • mrssoup July 21, 2009 at 11:27 am #

      Thank you Mary. That means a lot. But man, that first moment….your heart stopping and feeling so guilty. I’m not looking forward to the time something like that happens when she can speak….and put into the words the look that she gave me.

  5. Dallas Ann July 21, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    How about the time I locked Ella in the car and me out of the house? Horrible horrible horrible. Or when I laid her on a bench in the woman’s bathroom, knowing she could roll but hoping she wouldn’t and she promptly plopped off and smacked her head on the hard ground. At church.

    • mrssoup July 21, 2009 at 11:26 am #

      True…I’m just waiting for my first locking her in the car moment. Lord help it not be in a place that will get too hot or cold!

  6. Jen July 21, 2009 at 12:41 pm #

    My poor daughter fell off our bed at 9 months old and I had to call poison control a few times. Oh and I’ve closed both kids fingers in the car door a couple of times. I’m surprised they are still alive come to think of it.

    Please don’t be too hard on yourself. She will heal and forget all about the injury. These things happen to the best of us.

    • mrssoup July 21, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

      Thank you so much for the support. I knew it was going to happen at some point, and I knew that I was not alone but that moment, that heartbreaking moment….just horrible.

      She’s happy and her usual peppy self today, even after getting her 6 month shots. So that is good!

  7. Kristen July 21, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    First of all, you are not a horrible parent. Second of all, babies need that stuff, otherwise they grow up to be scared of life. I have taken too many kids out on a hike who are TERRIFIED of even getting dirty, much less having a few good scrapes. Her splinters and scratches are a normal part of life, and the more she gets having fun outside (i.e. doing stuff that will end with a few medals of honor like bruises and splinters) the better person she will be for it. In fact, next time instead of fretting, give her some mad props for her totally courageous fall and sweet splinters – you and her will both be better for it!

    • mrssoup July 21, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

      Yeah, I think because I pretty much did it to her is what made me feel the worst. If she bumps her head when playing or hits herself in the face with a toy or something, I’m fine. We giggle and clap and move on…but this was the first time there was a mark left on her and it was my fault.

      We’ll see the next boo-boo how that goes….here’s to clapping and smiling!

Leave a Reply

