Life In Focus

16 Jul

So, I haven’t had a chance to edit photos this past week and a half (doing the photo shoot editing took time away from my own personal editing) which means that I don’t really have any new ones. Which means I couldn’t do the You Capture post for today, which makes me sad. I had some good shapes found!

But! I found out about Life In Focus from Katie at A Little Crazy & A Lot of Love.  A way to take a little glimpse into each others lives.

I thought I would share some older photos.

First up, what is technically my very first photo shoot, but for myself, not to give to anyone else.  Kind of.  So I guess I lied with that past post, but that’s okay.  I didn’t know what I was doing with the camera so had everything on Auto.  Now I’ve read the manual and know how to work the different settings, even if I haven’t gotten them all figured out.  This is my beautiful niece and her husband.

006

030

060

074

And then, to share a bit more of my life, here are some photos taken for Baby Soup’s 3 month birthday.  They were taken by the incredible and amazing Katie of KBV Photography.

Babies are made for eating

Babies are made for eating

IMG_8006

Four Generations

Four Generations

IMG_8244

So I know the last half of those photos don’t fit with the theme, as I didn’t take them…but I also wanted to give a preview of whats to come, as on Sunday we are having 6 month photos taken by Katie again and I am very excited.

12 Responses to “Life In Focus”

  1. kbreints July 16, 2009 at 9:51 am #

    Yeah! Glad that you are getting in on the fun:) I love the family photos!!

    And the shoot with your sister is wonderful!

    • mrssoup July 16, 2009 at 10:10 am #

      I’m always up for some fun!

      And thank you! 😀 I’m pretty happy with them….

  2. Janet July 16, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    Thanks for joining the fun. These are great shots. I esp. love your first two. The ones taken of baby soup at 3 months are wonderful as well. I look forward to seeing more.

    I remember how scared I was to venture into manual. I was shooting with a film SLR at the time and had a lot of bad shots when I stepped outside of auto. I’m a very visual learner so making the switch to a DSLR really helped me see how I was messing up. But I still have so much more to learn.

    • mrssoup July 16, 2009 at 10:15 am #

      Thanks! I love me some fun photos.

      And the Digital camera makes it easier too, because I am such a visual learner as well. Not only that though, but playing with digital is so much easier as well because I don’t feel like I’m wasting anything.

      Each day is a learning experience and I love it.

  3. Badass Geek July 16, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    Very nice!

    • mrssoup July 16, 2009 at 11:19 am #

      Thank ya, sir!

  4. Jen July 16, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    What a fun place to practice shooting! I love fields and farms and bars … there is just so much character!

    Oh, and the 6 month shots are just about my favorites for the first year. Really … too fun!!!!

    I think that digi has made me a better photographer because of the developing costs. I can play with aperture and shutter and all that jazz for a long time (if the subject is still), learn from it, and delete. No harm, no foul! For me, those trash shots are key … that and looking at lots and lots of pictures taken by “professional” photographers.

    It’s said that if you want to be a good writer you have to read, read, read and write, write, write. I think the same goes for photography!

    • mrssoup July 16, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

      I was about 6 months pregnant when the field pictures were taken, and that was interesting to say the least! But I just HAD to get out of the house and do something fun and my niece and her husband agreed! And I cannot wait to see what she does with the 6 month shots, since Baby Soup has just sprouted into a full personality.

      I really am enjoying playing with the extremes of aperture, shutter, etc. and learning how the full extremes work and using the dialed down versions to get what I like. I still have tons of trash and some that I cheat and try to fix in Photoshop but learning is happening and that’s good.

      I also have lots and lots of blogs that I follow that help me learn, which I think helps too. A year ago if you had said aperture to me, I would reply with “God Bless You”. I didn’t even know what that meant! Now, although I don’t quite understand it well enough to explain it to someone else, I understand it enough to put it into practice.

  5. Aunt Becky July 16, 2009 at 1:45 pm #

    Cute! Very sweet pictures.

    • mrssoup July 16, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

      Thank you, my dear.

  6. Jill Scott July 16, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    Your pictures are gorgeous!

    • mrssoup July 17, 2009 at 8:29 am #

      Thank you so much! That means a lot!

Leave a Reply

