My College Career – Part Five

10 Jul

For Part One. For Part Two. For Part Three. For Part Four.

I did not expect this to go so long!  So if you’ve been reading it all, have a cookie!  If not, you can still have a cookie!

So I had escaped from Florida back home.  I was also hit with the realization that what I thought had been my dream job, no longer was.  I had decided that I would finish up school with my degree and see where it took me.

Thank goodness for Mr. Soup.  He grounded me in a way that I desperately needed.  I was feeling supremely lost and confused, my future was so uncertain.  But I knew one thing for sure and that was that I loved him and was ready for that future.

I had promised my father that I would graduate before I got married, so back to school I went.  But not in the normal manner.  I would become a commuter student, living in my parent’s house and working at Office Depot but arrainging my schedule so I would only have to be on campus Tusedays and Thursdays and work the rest of the time.

Normally, this wouldn’t seem too bad.  Free rent, good job, etc.  Here’s the kicker: I lived 2 hours away from the University of Oregon.

Yup, 2 hours.

I would be driving 4 hours a day twice a week.

Mr. Soup, my family and I crunched the numbers and we crunched them hard.  We discovered that it would be cheaper for me to live up there, working at the job that I had, and driving down unless gas got about $3.  Which it didn’t.

That fall I went down to meet with my advisor and plan the last bit of my career.  After meeting with her, I was told something shocking.

I had taken “all the wrong classes”.  I was stunned.  Having done what they told me to, apparently it was all wrong.  I wouldn’t be able to graduate for another 3-4 years if I stuck with my Art major.

I was furious.

After a deep breath and several tears in the bathroom of the Art building, I squared my shoulders and walked down to the Administrative building.  I sat for 30 minutes to wait to speak with a general advisor.

Almost 2 hours later, I left.  I was now a Sociology major.  I would be able to graduate a year from then.

I wasn’t excited, but I was content.  I would be out of there sooner rather than later, I didn’t love Sociology but wasn’t bored by it.  I also understood it.  And it would be a B.S. so I wouldn’t have to take a language (which is why I didn’t change to Art History).

Driving home that day was rough.  I had officially given up my dream.  No longer would I be an animator, but that was okay.  I was going to graduate.  I had an amazing fiance.  My future, although it wouldn’t be anything like I thought it would be, would be wonderful.

11 Responses to “My College Career – Part Five”

  1. Badass Geek July 10, 2009 at 10:53 am #

    College advisors screwed me over, too. I’m glad it worked out for you, though. =)

    • mrssoup July 10, 2009 at 10:58 am #

      Damn those advisers!

      *shakes her fist*

  2. Heather July 10, 2009 at 1:30 pm #

    “All the wrong classes”?!? And no one thought to tell you sooner?!? I would have been furious!

    But we now have something else in common ~ I was a Sociology major too! {I loved it though, and often wish that I’d stuck with that and gotten into research instead of switching paths and going down the Accounting route.}

    Have a great weekend!

    • mrssoup July 13, 2009 at 8:27 am #

      Yeah, I was past the point of furiousness to hit major anger. It was an interesting drive home.

      Wow! Another thing in common…the world is so small! And as you’ll see in the next part, I enjoy it. Not enough to do much of anything with it, but definitely enjoyed the reading.

  3. kbreints July 12, 2009 at 11:33 am #

    Sometimes your plans are not the path you are meant to take… I am sure that was frusterating to go through… but looking back now you must have a better understanding of why you went through it…

    • mrssoup July 13, 2009 at 8:20 am #

      That is so very true. It was hard and rough and so discouraging, but it definitely made me stronger.

  4. Aunt Becky July 12, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    Giving up a dream, no matter why, is so hard. I remember how much it hurt me.

    • mrssoup July 13, 2009 at 8:23 am #

      So very true. Especially since as of yet, I don’t have another career dream. Which makes it even more difficult.

  5. McMommy July 12, 2009 at 7:11 pm #

    I like how kbrients put it above…sometimes our plans are not the path we were meant to take.
    (This coming from the girl who thought for SURE I would be a broadcast journalist! 🙂

    Well, guess what? You won a giveaway at McMommy and Me! Email me to officially claim your prize at giveaways@mcmommy.net Congrats!

    • mrssoup July 13, 2009 at 8:24 am #

      So true. Thank you! And wooo! Yay prizes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My College Career – Part END « - July 17, 2009

    […] « Life In Focus My College Career – Part END July 17, 2009 Start here.  Most recent episode. […]

Leave a Reply

