Happy Father’s Day

22 Jun

Yes, I realize I’m a day late.  But I don’t care.

To the love of my life, Mr. Soup.

You like to say to those who are expecting their first child, or have already done so, that you plan and prepare for those 9 months while your partner is pregnant.  You think you know what it will feel like and are read.  But then, when you hold your baby in your arms that first time?  You say “Holy shit, I’m a dad”.

Woah

Woah

Truer words could never be spoken.  You are such an amazing dad.  Everytime you look at your daughter, I can just see your heart shining through.  I know you love being a Stay at Home Dad so much, and pray that I will be able to allow you to continue doing so.

Daddy Grins

I know you were worried about being a good day, considering your models growing up.  You don’t have to worry anymore, because you are amazing.  Happy first Father’s Day.

And what are we without our own fathers?

Daddy, I know you will never read this.  That is okay.  Because I’m writing it anyways.  What would I be without you?  Thank you for being such an amazing role model.  Showing me how to deal with situations as an adult.  Teaching me how to work well with others and inspire confidence.

Most importantly?  Thank you for passing on your sense of humor to me.  You are so loving and hilarious, able to set anyone at ease with a perfectly timed joke.

You taught me what to look for in a husband and father.  Even though I married my brother (no, not really!  But seriously, they could be twins.  In fact, we call them twins.  They can talk for hours just with each other….but I digress) I know that you molded so much of yourself into him.

Thank you for showing me that it’s okay for men to cry at movies.  To love, no matter what. To be strong does not necessarily require being mean.

I love you.

4 Responses to “Happy Father’s Day”

  1. kbreints June 23, 2009 at 6:30 am #

    Oh that was beautiful! I love your wedding photos!

    • mrssoup June 23, 2009 at 9:04 am #

      Thank you! I am still in love with my wedding photos. I wish the photographers were still around. :o(

  2. Badass Geek June 23, 2009 at 7:04 am #

    He sounds like a great guy. Great tribute!

    • mrssoup June 23, 2009 at 9:04 am #

      Thank you! I think I’ll keep him around. Just a little while longer anyways.

Leave a Reply

