That Wonderful Friend Known As Yeast.

29 May

And not the lovely active kind that helps make bread grow.

I’m talking about the icky gross itchy kind.  The painful kind that makes you want to just jump off a bridge, especially when at work and you can’t scratch at it (not that I would, since that would be horribly unlady-like and would not help and stuff).

I have been plagued by these horrible infections since I was a child.  I believe I was about 3 when I had my first one.  From then on, I was instructed to only wear nightgowns with no panties when I went to bed.  I found this hilarious and remember giggling when the doctor told me.  I felt so naughty!

From then on, except for when I lovingly got that other plague of the nether-regions, I always slept without bottoms.  Oh, and except if I’m sleeping with other people (other than my husband) in the area.  Because they don’t want to see my vajayjay.

But still, they come.  I eat the yogurt.  I drink the water.  They still come.  And I have one now.  Normally, the itching sneaks up on me.  I can get the Monostat and be okay.

This one, though.  Holy crap.  It came out of nowhere and came like the Four Horsemen of the Apocolypse, throwing lighting and rage and anger out of my vagina.

Yesterday, I knew I would have to stop by the store on the way home and get some of the cream.  Because of course, I’m allergic to SOMETHING in the oral pill.  It makes me break out in horrible hives that are worse than the infection.  Since we only have one car, and Wednesdays are my husband’s D&D night at my brother’s house, he came to pick me up from work, then I drop him off and head home.  The thought of having to stop at the store, drag the carseat with baby in it into the store just to get the Monostat was making me want to cry, as this week has been an interesting one at work.

What do I see on my seat as I walk down the stairs to get in the car?  A bag from Fred Meyer.  With my lovely medical creams.  I almost cried with tears of joy.

DSCN1980

I am a lucky, lucky girl.  Who elses husband would pick up vaginal cream for you?

9 Responses to “That Wonderful Friend Known As Yeast.”

  1. kbreints May 29, 2009 at 6:11 am #

    Seriously? Not mine for sure!! What a good man you have 🙂

    • mrssoup May 29, 2009 at 6:54 am #

      I think I’m pretty lucky indeed! 😀

  2. Heather May 29, 2009 at 8:32 am #

    What a fabulous hubby you have! He is one special guy to have stopped and gotten you what you needed without you even asking!

    Yeast infections are the absolute worst! Have you tried boric acid suppositories? They did the trick for me.

    • mrssoup May 29, 2009 at 8:51 am #

      I think he’s a keeper!

      And I haven’t tried boric acid suppositories….I must try that! Do you need a prescription for them, or are you able to get them over the counter?

      • Heather May 29, 2009 at 8:55 am #

        I think you need a prescription. I’m pretty sure they have them at Walgreen’s ~ I bet if you talked to a pharmacist there, they could tell you for sure. Good luck!

      • mrssoup May 29, 2009 at 9:30 am #

        Awesome! Must check that out….

  3. Becky May 29, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    If I wasn’t terrified of OTC stuff, I’d send The Daver out to get it for me. But after that whole cantaloupe-crotch thing? Hells to the NO.

  4. Jill Scott June 5, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    Oh wow. That is above and beyond the call of duty. I think you have a keeper.

    • mrssoup June 5, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

      I think I’ll keep him around indeed!

Leave a Reply

