In Memory

25 May

We have a strong tradition of military and civil service in my family.
My grandfather was in the Marines in WWII and Korea.  He served in the Battle of Peleliu and survived.  He use to tell stories about running onto the beach.  There were lots of foxholes and he jumped into one.  To his surprise, it was already occupied.  By a Japanese soldier.  They stared at each for what seemed like hours.  This soldier was as young as he was.  He was the first one to blink and turned and leaped out of the foxhole.  Later on, his commanding officer was angry with him, but he never regretted not firing on the enemy he faced.

My father was in the Air Force and fixed the cameras on spy planes.  He was honorably discharged after he received massive internal bleeding from an injury.  He now is also a Safety Officer for the Fire Department.

Both brothers were in the Marines.  My youngest retired at 21 after medical issues.  Of my 13 cousins, more than half have been or are in every branch but the Army.

My youngest uncle retired from the Coast Guard at 40 and is floating around Australia in his boat.  My eldest uncle was a fireman.  My middle uncle and his wife both are EMTs for Life Flight.

I remember and am blessed for my life of Freedom.  Do you?

4 Responses to “In Memory”

  1. kbreints May 25, 2009 at 10:25 am #

    Wow! Thank you for your family. What an amazing thing they do for all of us. Anytime I come across someone in uniform, if given the chance, I thank them.

    My husband was in the Reserves for 6 years, and I thank god every day that he never had to go to war.

    I think that is one of my biggest fears with two boys. I fear them wanting to join the military…. and my having to send them to war.

    • mrssoup May 26, 2009 at 9:53 am #

      Thank you for your husband! You were so lucky indeed that they didn’t send him off to war.

  2. Badass Geek May 26, 2009 at 7:12 am #

    I remember everyone I know who has served this country. Memorial Day is always a special day for that.

    • mrssoup May 26, 2009 at 9:51 am #

      Thank you for that. ❤

Leave a Reply

