Dreams

22 May

I have always had intense dreams.  I dream in full vivid color, with sound and everything.  Everyone talks about how when you are pregnant you dream more intense dreams.  That didn’t happen for me.  Instead, I dreamt more often.

My mother is the same way.  My dad woke up to her smacking him.  When he asked her why she was hitting him, she told him that he had cheated on her.  It was a dream of course, but was so real that she was really angry with him for a full week.

I’ve had those dreams as well.  In fact, last night I had one.  I dreamt that we were going on a trip (it was this really cool vacation on a place that had a building similar to the one in Star Wars Episode II – Attack of the Clones on Kamino (the water world with the crazy graceful aliens that were making the little Jenga Fetts) but set on a beach).  We were in an entrance room, mingling and sipping drinks and eating REALLY yummy fruit kabobs.  Then the guides came out to send us to the next area on some sort of spaceship thing.  Each person walked up a little podium and got hooked up into a chair with straps and then were sent through a tunnel to the ship.  My husband went first, then we hooked up the baby, in her car seat, to the chair.  For some reason, I couldn’t go next and had to wait until the end.

Once I zoomed through the tunnel (which looked like the tunnel in Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory) and got unhooked, I couldn’t find my daughter.  No one knew where she went, not even my husband.  I was frantic.  One of my friends came and said they put her away.  But he wouldn’t tell me where.  Two other good friends (one of which is a weapons master and half-Asian…meaning he’s a ninja) confronted him, the ninja guy striking a pose and threatening him.  Finally he told us where she was.  She had been put in a drawer in a cupboard.  I was furious and tore him limb from limb (surprisingly not very bloody, at least in my dream).

I woke up, sweating and rolled quickly out of bed to check on my daughter.  The logical part of my brain KNEW she was fine.  Since we obviously were not on vacation, nor were we on a space ship.  But the part that remains just HAD to check on her.

I’ve also had dreams where my husband cheated on me (once with my ex-roommate’s boyfriend…that was interesting) and dreams where I’ve cheated on him (Brad Pitt and Edward Norton together…yum!).

The oddest thing though, is anytime I dream that takes place in a mall.  I always have the same mall layout in this dream.  It looks a little bit like the mall in one of the Jurassic Park films (I think it was 3) , a little bit like Pioneer Place in Portland, and a little bit crazy.

If I ever see this mall in person, I will probably have a heart attack.

Dreaming about Rocking Out

Dreaming about Rocking Out

So what about you?  Do you dream in color or black & white?  Are your dreams vivid or more emotional?  Who do you wish would come visit you in your dreams?

7 Responses to “Dreams”

  1. Badass Geek May 22, 2009 at 6:58 am #

    I have a neurological condition that disrupts my sleep enough to where I don’t often remember my dreams. When I do, though, they are random and nonsensical.

    Like the one where I ran naked through a hospital (that was in the middle of a cornfield), and hid in a room where a black man sat meditating over a bowl of severed thumbs.

    Yeah. It was strange.

    • mrssoup May 22, 2009 at 7:03 am #

      Oh goodness!! That’s so creepy! Especially a hospital in the middle of a cornfield. But the bowl of severed thumbs too.

      *shudders*

      Crazy!

  2. kbreints May 22, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    I have very emotional dreams… I have woken Dan up with my crying or talking… and I have woken up mad at him for ‘breaking up’ with me… he just laughs.

    I also feel like I am falling sometimes… and wake up trying to catch myself…

    In my dreams though I am looking down on myself.

    • mrssoup May 22, 2009 at 8:50 am #

      Interesting that you look down on yourself! I don’t think I’ve ever dreamed that. I usually dream through my eyes or like a movie.

  3. Bethwyn May 22, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

    I have had the same dream as your mum, and I too woke up beating the crap out of my partner! He wasn’t impressed!

    My dreams are usually not too bad, but I don’t remember them very often. My partner when he gets stressed with work will talk a lot in his sleep. Often it’s work/computer related (he’s in IT), or sometimes it will just be the most whacked and weird things, like asking me if I took the chicken out of the boot of the car, and laughing at some clown jumping around. Thankfully work doesn’t stress him much anymore!

  4. Jen May 28, 2009 at 9:46 pm #

    I’ve done that! I’ve woken up really angry with my husband because he cheated on me in a dream. Glad to know that I’m not the only one to do that.

    Your Brad Pitt and Ed Norton dream sounds very sexy. You must have had that after watching Fight Club. 🙂

    • mrssoup May 29, 2009 at 6:53 am #

      You know what? I think I saw it in the store which made me think of it which most likely did influence my dream! Good call!

Leave a Reply

