Nature in the City

15 May

One of the many things I love about living in Oregon is the design of the cities.  Downtown Portland is one of the prettiest cities I’ve ever seen.  The biggest reason for this?  The sheer amount of nature that is involved.

This has spilled over to most of the other areas in the Willamette Valley as well.  The town I live in is right on the cusp of “civilization”.  Right outside of it is farmland and the mountains and then the coast.  The town I work in is one of the top 5 largest cities in the state and is FILLED with trees, parks, plants and all sorts of greenery.

In fact, right outside my building is a field.

This field is visited by all sorts of birds, including a pair of Great Blue Herons that visit regularly.

When I take my lunch, I love sitting at the table next to a huge window and looking out over this field.  It’s so peaceful and really recharges me for another day.

There are also the required trees and bushes and other plants.  When Spring comes around, they seem to burst forth with color, making everything just seem to glow.

So tell me, what little bit of nature makes you happy in your life?

15 Responses to “Nature in the City”

  1. Dallas Ann May 15, 2009 at 6:20 am #

    The bunny nest just outside the dining room window. 🙂

    I miss rhododendrons so much! They aren’t grown out here!

    • mrssoup May 15, 2009 at 8:43 am #

      Oooo, bunny nest! Are there baby bunnies yet?

      And I just love rhodies too. We have them lining the office building all
      the way around. It’s amazing.

      • Dallas Ann May 16, 2009 at 7:30 am #

        They’re all grown and gone, like within 2 or 3 weeks of being born. I was SO sad I didn’t get any pictures!

  2. Badass Geek May 15, 2009 at 8:45 am #

    I love all the wildlife I see on my way into work. I routinely see deer and turkeys, but I’ve seen foxes and porcupines and rabbits before, too.

    • mrssoup May 15, 2009 at 9:22 am #

      Wild turkeys are crazy! What a great drive though! It must be awesome to
      play a “What will I see on my way to work” game!

  3. Jen May 15, 2009 at 9:04 am #

    I would have never guessed that the first picture is in a city. How wonderful!!

    I love wildlife. This morning I saw the most beautiful cardinal flying around in my backyard. It was such a bright red.

    • mrssoup May 15, 2009 at 9:23 am #

      That’s the one thing I miss about the 2 years I spent in the
      Midwest…cardinals. We don’t get any out here and they are such a
      beautiful color!

  4. Heather May 15, 2009 at 12:46 pm #

    those flowers are gorgeous! i’m jealous that you get to have such a beautiful view on your lunch break!

    have a wonderful weekend!

    • mrssoup May 18, 2009 at 8:29 am #

      It really is so peaceful! 😀 And they smell soooo good.

  5. Karly May 16, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    My little topsy turvy hanging tomato plant makes me happy. It’s dorky and weird, but I love it. Tomatoes! Growing upside down! Awesome!

    • mrssoup May 18, 2009 at 8:29 am #

      Oooo! I’ve always wanted one of those! Alas, I can manage to kill plastic plants….so who knows what I would do to vegetables….

  6. Becky May 16, 2009 at 12:08 pm #

    Killing the the damn snowball bushes. And the buckthorns. That makes me VERY happy.

    • mrssoup May 18, 2009 at 8:30 am #

      Hahaha! Yay for death and destruction?

  7. kbreints May 18, 2009 at 6:29 am #

    I have to say that I enjoy not living in a concrete jungle…. I used to… I can barely stand to visit anymore!

    I love having a field as my backyard!

    • mrssoup May 18, 2009 at 8:30 am #

      I bet that’s wonderful! We have such a small backyard that is mostly dirt/mud. I can’t wait to have a house with a bigger backyard.

Leave a Reply

