My Mother’s Day Gift – for others

11 May

My Mother’s Day was wonderful.  I got woken up by this:

Snuggly and Sleepy Baby

She came along with fresh, still warm from the oven blueberry muffins and tea.  I then got to sit in bed, with the sleeping baby on my chest and read for about 2 hours.

We then went over to my parent’s house to have a glorious lunch with my parents, husband’s mom, older brother and his wife and 2 kids.  There were 5 dogs there.  It was madness.  And wonderful.  Delicious salmon BBQ’d by my dad and chocolate cake made by my nephews.

But the best part this year?  Making these:

They are nothing super special or anything.  But they were made with lots and lots of love.  I just wish I had found more boxes at Goodwill the day I went searching to have made some more.  But I will be keeping my eyes open.

I made these boxes to donate to the hospital I gave birth at for their bereavement cart.  To be given to families that lose their children so soon after meeting them.

Dropping them off at the hospital was a heartwarming experience, especially since I was able to let them know about Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep.  They didn’t know anything about it, so being able to pass on that information to parents that need/want it was wonderful.

I also placed a note in them, along with a poem, saying who they were in honor for.

Thank you to Dallas Ann for Marshall and Lillian, Beth for James and Jake, DD for Vivienne, and everyone else I’ve read about for being my inspiration and opening my eyes.

Thank you for helping me remember how blessed I am and truly love each and every day I have to spend with my little Baby Soup.  Your losses have been heartbreaking but by sharing them with the world, you have brought knowledge to so many.

I hope your Mother’s Day were all wonderful and as blessed as mine was.

6 Responses to “My Mother’s Day Gift – for others”

  1. kbreints May 11, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    Beautiful! What an amazing gift! So glad that you had a wonderful first mothers day!

    • mrssoup May 11, 2009 at 10:48 am #

      Thank you! I hope yours was wonderful as well!

  2. Dallas Ann May 11, 2009 at 1:11 pm #

    I hope they offer comfort to other mothers.

    • mrssoup May 11, 2009 at 1:25 pm #

  3. Lins May 11, 2009 at 2:41 pm #

    Congratulations on a beautiful Mother’s Day! Nothing better than baby snuggles!

    Oh, and I think I’ll be calling you Liv from now on…I can see the resemblance for sure! 🙂

    • mrssoup May 11, 2009 at 3:19 pm #

      Thank you!

      And you can call me Liv if I can call you Sloane! lol. Yay for hawt
      celebrity look-alikes. Way better than some people we could look like…

Leave a Reply

