My Favorite Toys!

4 May

I found out about “Friend Makin Mondays” from Jen at the Daily Mish Mash and just had to play!  Head over to aefilkins and do your own!  This was timed perfectly as well, since I didn’t have anything finished for today, thanks to a horrible migraine and residual headache this weekend.  No fun!

The theme is “5 toys that remind you of your childhood”.

5.  Barbie

I, naturally, loved the Barbie horse and the Barbies.  I had my mother’s barbies as well as the “new” ones.  I *loved* them!  I tried to find a photo of the Barbie Camper that I had, but no such luck.  Alas.  I can’t wait until my daughter is old enough to play with them, because she will have 3 generations of Barbies to play with!

4.  Cabbage Patch Horse and Cowgirl

Loves to play with their hair.  It was kind of a bendable material, so you could go in and “curl” it with the plastic curling iron and braid it and everything.  This was how I learned how to French Braid.

3.  Care Bears and Care Bear Cousins

I had all of these little figuirines and the Care Bear ones too.  Loved the movies and everything.  Fabulous fun!!

2. Littlest Pet Shop

So, I’ve had to cheat because all of my toys are packed away until my daughter is old enough to play with them….and it was hard to find a photo of the old school Littlest Pet Shop.  And apparently they are called “Vintage”.  I feel REALLY old.  The new ones are hideous.  *shudders*  But I *loved* these.  I had the store to sell them…the lovebirds and these kitties were my favorites.

1. My Little Pony!

OMG My Little Pony.  My all-time favorite.  They were so much fun…especially the ones with the clothes and hair things.

28 Responses to “My Favorite Toys!”

  1. Vivienne May 4, 2009 at 9:54 am #

    Did you want to be a vet when you grew up? You have quite the animal theme going here.
    🙂

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 10:41 am #

      I did actually. Until I went for a day to one of my mom’s friend’s husbands, who was a vet. We spent most of the day de-horning cows. I decided I didn’t want to be a vet anymore after that. lol. But I still am a huge fan of animals.

  2. Rhonda May 4, 2009 at 10:51 am #

    Hi! Great list! I loved My Little Pony! Hope you have a fabulous Monday!

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 10:55 am #

      Thank you! So far, its not too bad! 😀 Thanks for visiting!

  3. Becca May 4, 2009 at 11:09 am #

    Wow- I didn’t know they had “vintage” My littlest Pet Shop- my daughter loves those and has for a few years now!!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Have a super week!

    ~Becca

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

      Oh yeah, the “vintage” ones were FANTASTIC. The ones now kinda freak me out, with the big heads and eyes. *shudders*

  4. Lisa May 4, 2009 at 11:56 am #

    This makes me think of my daughter. She is waaayyyy into horses and animals. This was a very cutte list!

    Have a great Monday!

    xoxo Lisa

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 1:04 pm #

      Thank you! 😀 And yay for animal fans. 🙂

  5. Heather May 4, 2009 at 12:59 pm #

    I’d completely forgotten about the Care Bear Cousins! I loved them!

    And that Cabbage Patch horse is absolutely adorable! Do you still have yours?

    Have a fabulous week!

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

      I do still have mine! I’m so thankful that my parents have allowed me to keep boxes of my toys for my daughter and any other kids to come. She is going to be spoiled!

  6. kbreints May 4, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

    Oh yeah!! What fun! I love all of those… I would have to add glow worm, and lite brite to those though!

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

      Yeah, I didn’t really have any glow worms or lite brite. I had to go to my neighbor to play with the lite bright.

  7. Nancy May 4, 2009 at 2:38 pm #

    I guess you did love animals! =) Sweet list!

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

      Thanks!

  8. Xazmin May 4, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    I loved the Barbie horses! I had Dallas and Dixie!

    I’m so mad I didn’t keep all my barbies, I’ve had to start from scratch with my girls! Thank goodness for yard sales!

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

      Oh nice! Good luck with the yard sale search! And keep theirs for their kids!

  9. Kenlie May 4, 2009 at 3:50 pm #

    I looooooooooooooooved My Little Pony! 🙂

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

      Aren’t they the best?!?! 😀 Thanks for visiting!

  10. Jenny May 4, 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    I had that exact same My Little Pony! I thought Littlest Pet Shop just came out. I had no idea they’ve been around since 1992. Of course, that would make sense, because in 1992 I had moved on from playing toys and was into Pearl Jam and Nirvana! LOL!

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 4:35 pm #

      Yeah, I was only 10 when they came out and as you can see, I was (and still am) a big animal fan. That, and I babysat my cousin a lot, and it was something that she enjoyed playing with too.

  11. Tanielle May 4, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    Great list!! I was too old for those littlest pet shops I guess, because I don’t remember them. My girls love the new ones!!!

    Have a great night!

    • mrssoup May 4, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

      It’s possible. They came out in the early 90’s I believe. And were fabulous!

  12. Becky May 5, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    We SO must be the same age. Loved Cabbage Patch kids like crazy.

    • mrssoup May 5, 2009 at 12:17 pm #

      I think so. I’m 27. (holy crap, I’m 27. 😮 That’s so close to 30….wow.)

  13. jennykate77 May 5, 2009 at 1:17 pm #

    I’m a child of the 80’s too, so I remember all of that stuff you’re talking about! Barbies were definitely my MOST favorite toys…anything Barbie related. I had a Barbie Horse too! Great list!

    Hope you have a wonderful week!

    • mrssoup May 5, 2009 at 1:31 pm #

      Yay 80’s kids! The Barbie horse was amazing….I always wanted the one that walked and never got it….so sad.

  14. Lins May 5, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    We must be the same age…I remember every single one of those toys (right down to the Cabbage Patch Pony!)

    Great blog! It’s my first crack at FMM and I can’t wait to meet new blogging buddies!

    Lins @ goodbyemartha.blogspot.com

    • mrssoup May 5, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

      We must be! This was my first crack at FMM and I’m loving it! I’ve met so many new people and added blogs like crazy to my reader.

      Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

