Diapers!

27 Apr

Let me preface this post by saying I am not a hippie, even though I live in Oregon.  I bathe (mostly) every day.  I drive a car with regular unleaded gas.  I own a bike, but its hidden in the garage under a pile of crap.

But!  I LOVE cloth diapers and cloth diapering.

I love the fact for around $200, we’ve bought enough items to keep our daughter in diapers and any further children, until potty training.

I love the fact that there will not be any midnight runs to the grocery store to get diapers.

Plus, they are freaking adorable!!

Whats not to love?

What's not to love?

We use prefolds and covers, which are by far the cheapest choice.  They are not the easiest option, but we haven’t had any trouble with them.  They are quick to fold, attach with a Snappi (the best invention EVER!) and can be done at 3am while half asleep.

I also love the Cloth Diaper Outlet.  They have amazing sales and a great selection.  And no, I was not paid to make this post.  :p  I just want to share my love of the cloth.

Plus, they look great with just a t-shirt on too!

Plus, they look great with just a t-shirt on too!

6 Responses to “Diapers!”

  1. Becky April 27, 2009 at 4:04 pm #

    Flippin’ cute, duder.

    • mrssoup April 27, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

      Thanks! ^.^

  2. kbreints April 28, 2009 at 7:00 am #

    I was not a cloth diaper mom…. and I am not sure that I would have been if I was a stay at home mom… but several friends of mine are…. and they ARE adorable…

    • mrssoup April 28, 2009 at 8:43 am #

      Yeah, if you had told me that I would do cloth diapers even just a year ago, I would have laughed hysterically at you and rolled my eyes. But they don’t take much time at all to take care of, and we are always doing laundry anyways. And with prefolds, we don’t have to stuff them or anything, just lay them flat in a drawer. So super easy to take care of, which I love.

  3. Kathleen December 14, 2009 at 2:23 pm #

    I just noticed your label and out of curiosity clicked to check it out! You are a brave woman doing cloth diapers!! I didn’t consider it because, for one, I had three in diapers for awhile. It was like an assembly line keeping up; I can’t imagine throwing in diaper laundry to boot. However, I had NO idea there were such cute cloth diaper choices out there!! So different from when I was a baby and it was plain white! She looks adorable!

    • mrssoup December 14, 2009 at 2:27 pm #

      Ha, glad you checked it out! It’s really not bad at all. I wouldn’t do anything different! Prefolds are so easy to clean, you just run two washes, one without soap and the next with the soap and then dryer. We’re doing so much laundry anyways, it’s not a big deal. That, and never having to run to the store for diapers is pretty nice too. Next up, trying cloth wipes! Not having to have a trash can around would be nice!

      Introducing our parents to cloth has been interesting too! So many different options and changes, it’s opened up their eyes. They’ve all been incredible supportive.

Leave a Reply

