Shoes!

20 Apr

What is it about a cute pair of shoes that makes you feel attractice?

I’m tall (almost 6′) and it wasn’t until after high school that I began to understand and enjoy a good pair of heels.  I learned to embrace my height instead of hide behind it and now run around in 2 and 3 inch heels proudly.  (Okay, not run because I would fall flat on my face way too often, but you get the idea.)

More importantly, I learned how to walk in heels.  Nothing is sadder (more sad?  more sadder?  whatever.) than watching a girl who would otherwise be attractive stumble across a street with her legs bent oddly and her step unsure as she wears shoes that she is not comfortable in.  I wish I could go up to that girl and tap her on the shoulder and give her lessons on how to keep her shoulders down, her back straight and where on the foot to step.  One of these days, I probably will.

When I returned from maternity leave, my position changed to one that requires me to dress business casual.  Gone were the days of rolling out of bed 10 minutes before I had to leave and coming into work sometimes without even showering.

I know what you’re thinking, and yes, I am a sexy sexy creature.

Instead I now shower and have to do something with my hair and makeup as well as get dressed in real clothes again.  Let me tell you, it was WONDERFUL not having to care about what I looked like when I was pregnant.  I had severe nausea throughout all 9 months and worked up until a week before I gave birth.  There were times I spent most of the day on the floor of my cube just wanting to die.  My trashcan had a roll of plastic bags next to it in order that I may change it without having to subject my coworkers to too much vomit smell if I couldn’t make it to the bathroom.  I wish I had taken a picture of my trashcan in fact, because I gave him a face and called him Ralph since he and I got to be such very good friends.

Once again, yes, I am a very sexy creature.

Wow, that was a tangent.

But back to shoes!  Having to actually get dressed again has given me a chance to pull out my cute heels again.  My knee high boots, round toed mary janes, my adorable khaki colored peep toed pumps (the only peep toed shoes I’ve found that don’t make my feet look totally dimented) and even my wedding shoes.  I found these 4″ inch heels at Payless for $12 and fell in love immediately.  Every time I wear them, I think about the great day I first wore them and how much fun I had and it brings an extra spring to my step.

It’s always a nice reminder about how lucky I am and keeps me going through my day.

7 Responses to “Shoes!”

  1. kbreints April 20, 2009 at 12:30 pm #

    Oh…. when I was in highschool I had a shoe closet. I had about 60+ pairs of shoes… all neatly labeled and acounted for. I got burned out, and I now HATE shopping for them… I also used to wear heels every day and when I got pregnant I started to wear comfortable shoes…. yeah– I MAYBE put on heels once every OTHER month now?

    • mrssoup April 20, 2009 at 4:12 pm #

      Do you still have the shoes in your closet, all lonely and dejected? Or have they been adopted to a new home?

  2. Becky April 20, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    Those shoes are making me jealous. I’m waiting for my stupid foot to heal before I can wear the cute shoes. Well, that and getting some of these baby pounds off.

    • mrssoup April 20, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

      Oh no! Foot injuries are one of the worst…since you have to, you know, walk and stuff. And I’m sure its not helping getting the baby pounds to go away either! I hope it heels (see what I did there? I’m so punny…) soon!!

  3. Dallas Ann April 20, 2009 at 6:51 pm #

    I wish I could find comfortable heels and then have you teach me to walk in them. I’ve never, ever found a pair that doesn’t kill my size 11 feet.

  4. McMommy April 20, 2009 at 7:30 pm #

    They are fantastic and I love the fact that they can be dressed up or down! Even better is the super deal you got on them!!!

    • mrssoup April 24, 2009 at 11:08 am #

      Exactly! I love a good shoe that can go with almost any outfit. 😀

Leave a Reply

