Alexander Dumas

13 Apr

What is it about reading a book for the first time that has obtained status as a classic and discovering how much you love it that thrills?

I have been a fan of Dumas for years (ever since The Three Musketeers movie with Chris O’Donnell, Kiefer Sutherland, Tim Curry and the awesomeness that is Oliver Platt came out). That movie made me run to the library and get the book. I then followed with the Man in the Iron Mask. When the movie with Leonardo DiCaprio came out (with Hugh Laurie as well! Yay Dr House!) I was excited. I enjoyed the movie, but was disappointed because the movie covers only the first couple chapters of the book. On the one hand, it’s impressive how much story they pulled out of so few chapters. But on the other hand, it’s depressing that they left out so much. There have been few moments in my reading life that I have cried as hard as I did for the death of a character as I did for Portho’s death.

For some reason, I hadn’t ever read The Count of Monte Cristo. Don’t ask me how I missed it, but I did. I have been dealing with it now, though. I am about halfway done and am enjoying it just as much as the other writings by Dumas. I enjoy his writing style. It presents itself to be put on tv stage and screen so well. Descriptions are written almost like a script. It’s just beautiful.

Then, just this past weekend, I discovered something else.  Apparently, the majority of the translations that are out (including all the ones I had ever read) of Dumas’ work was translated from French by the Victorians.  And they took out all the sex scenes.  Holy cow there are sex scenes!
So now, I must read the accurate translation and get a whole other story!  I cannot wait!

Leave a Reply

