The Things We Give Up

10 Apr

When I started telling people I was pregnant, I heard many comments such as “Get sleep now while you can!” and “You don’t even understand how your life will change!” and the always wonderful “You are going to have to give up so much!”

Now that my daughter is here, I would have said to those people “I sleep better now than I did when I was pregnant!  So ha!” and “My life is pretty much the same, except the sun shines every day, even in rainy Oregon, when I look at my beautiful daughters face.”

But to the last, they were right.

Mr. Soup and I don’t really go out, so I didn’t have to give up my WILD bar hopping nights.  We are frugal people, so our finances haven’t really changed.  But I have had to give up something near and dear to my heart.

Chocolate.
Oh the gloriousness that occurs from the magic Cocoa Bean.  How I miss thee!!  See, one of chocolates main ingrediants is caffeine.  And my beautiful, amazing, perfect daughter has the joys of getting hugely painful stomach cramps that make her scream bloody murder until they pass when I consume anything that includes caffeine.  Including chocolate.

So yes, I have had to give up that one perfect food.

But for this face?

So Worth It!

So Worth It!

2 Responses to “The Things We Give Up”

  1. kbreints April 15, 2009 at 1:28 pm #

    ohhhh I bet Easter was rough without chocolate! 🙂

    • mrssoup April 15, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

      oh goodness yes. It was horrible! No Cadbury Cream Eggs! *tear*

Leave a Reply

