For the love of books

30 Mar

Books. I love almost everything about them, whatever form they are in. The smell of a library book. The sound of a new reader for an audio book. The crispness of the words on the screen of an ebook. Each has it’s own experience and each story can be enjoyed best in a different format.

Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series holds a special place in my heart.  They are the reason I found my husband and our daughter is named after one of the characters.  Seeing the 11 current books out on our bookshelf always makes me smile as I think of all the memories and friends that they have brought into my life.

I love listening to the Harry Potter books, the ones read by Jim Dale. His voice is soothing and the separate voices he does for each character are phenomenal.

I enjoy reading Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series in my big paperback books. I love the feel of those pages. Katherine by Anya Seton gives me the same feeling. The fact that each edition, regardless of when it was published uses the same font is comforting, especially since I have gone through three different copies.

Now excuse me as I enjoy my time with The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexander Dumas. In ebook form.

One Response to “For the love of books”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Books! « - October 5, 2010

    […] fact, if you’ve read my blog at all, you’ll find a few posts about books and authors and book […]

Leave a Reply

