Traditions

20 Mar

Traditions. My family has a lot. When I got married, I wore a dress made out of pieces of my grandma’s and my mom’s wedding dresses. In my hair was an orange blossom piece that had been worn in three other generations of women’s hair. In my shoe was a six-pence that was brought from London by my great-grandmother. And attached to my leg was a garter as old as the orange blossoms with 22 bells, one for each year of my husband’s life.

Wedding Bells

Wedding Bells

When we found out we were pregnant with a girl, I knew that I wanted to restart another tradition that had ended with my mother. Four generations have the name of Jane. But no one told my mom, so I don’t have it in my name. I knew I wanted to have my daughters name include Jane.

And so it does.

Baby Jane

Baby Jane

Leave a Reply

